Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Countdown Wednesday

123

It’s a new season around here. Fall. Also known as Autumn. Also known as Pumpkin-Freaks-Are- Everywhere-Trying-To-Kill-Me.

fallstuff2

They’re watching me…aren’t they? *shiver*

Today, we’re counting down about seasons.

What I Know About Seasons

3. Napping. Something I like about fall is that it’s still warm and sunny enough for street naps and sun-puddle naps. I love a good nap.

sunsquiggle

2. Next. The next season will be winter. That means jackets (Mmmm. Toasty.)

snow1

and boots (*gulp*)

and snow (Yikes! I hope it doesn’t touch my belly!).

snow3pink

1. Halloween. Fall is Halloween time. ‘Nuff said.

turtledogdevildog

What Mom Knows About Seasons

3. 9-Months. Fall means Mom is 9 months into her 12×12 challenge. She could’ve had a baby in all that time. Maybe a book-baby…?

bookbabies

2. Visiting. Back-to-School-Season means Back-to-School-Visits-Season. I’m still not allowed to go along, but I’m getting better at watching and waiting for Mom to come home.

hoping

1. Clothes. Sweaters and sweatshirts are warm and cozy and Mom will wear them a lot this season. Ditto boots and jackets. I sure hope Mom can walk better in her boots than I do in mine.

boots

Help me….

Otherwise, no matter how many book-babies she has, she’ll never even make it to a school visit!

sweatshirt

Comments on: "Countdown Wednesday" (73)

  1. Oh Cupcake…you have to forgive our mom…she is rolling on the floor with laughter because your little boot wearing video. Honestly, she is SO embarrassing!!

    We’re sorry we missed your birthday last week but we did see you on Facebook and mom wished you for us.

    Yup, we are meant to be having spring weather here in South Africa but if you look at the temperatures it seems as if we have skipped spring and just moved straight into summer!

    Try hiding those booties while your mom is out next time *wink*

    Wally & Sammy

  2. You look very sweet in your boots, Cupcake. I hope you feel more comfortable with them this year!

  3. I’m sorry pal, but I had to laugh at you walking in your boots!!

  4. sorry Cupcake that I laughed as I saw you with the evil boots :o) Your mom will have a book-baby? interesting, that means you will get a book-sibling :o) maybe you can give the boots to your new sibling? I’ve heard that’s a popular gift for a baby shower :o)

  5. Cupcake that photo of you and your Mom is great! Also, I see you in your devil costume which you wore to my Halloween party last year….you look SOOOOO cute!!!!! I know this is your tough time of the year – those pumpkins that are evil are EVERYWHERE. Be careful in the hallways…..OK? My Mom almost got boots for me one year – thank heavens she resisted the temptation!

    Hugs, Sammy

    • Thanks, S. You’re lucky to be able to stay inside in one of your tents when the weather gets cold. Inside isn’t an option for me and Mom. But it might be if one of those leering jack-o-lanterns reappears across the hall! Yikes.

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. Awwww, that is such an adorable and beautiful photo of you and mom indeed Cupcake. I love it!

    I had to laugh at the ‘evil boots’. Simba would never forgive me if I give him boots like that, but then, we don’t have snow here and it is important that mom try to protect your cute little feet. That snow can be very cold and harming. πŸ™‚

    You look just adorable in your halloween costumes and you make a cute Eskimo as well. πŸ˜† Stunning shots! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks, S. I used to live in a place with no snow before I was rescued. That’s why I’m a shivering, foot-freezing mess in the winter. I may have to come and cuddle with Simba in a sun puddle….

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Oh and that snow can be very cold. Luckily mom is there to put on your cute shoes so your toes doesn’t fall off from the cold. πŸ˜†

        Simba would love that indeed. You can then take a dip in the pool when it becomes too hot. πŸ˜€

        Love and hugs.

  7. momwithoutpaws does not want the snow. I used to go to the school for the kids to read to me, but a person called a principle said “no dogs allowed” darn. Your momwithoutpaws is lucky to read to kids.. woof

  8. What a beautiful pair of girls you are Cupcake and mum πŸ˜‰ and oh dear..sorry Cupcake..but I lost my cheese over that video of the evil boots…I think if I did that to Doc I may get a bit of a foul look…forever…lasting ALL seasons…hahhaha and way to go mum with her 9 months of book challenges πŸ™‚ loves Fozziemum xxx

  9. Love the Halloween costumes, Cupcake! You are quite the cutie pie for a devil. And wish your mom good luck with 12 x 12! πŸ™‚

  10. You have my small brain all twisted – Wednesday is tomorrow! I think? In any event, your boot video had me rolling. Penny’s first boot-season should be quite interesting…

  11. That’s a great photo of you two!!!! It’s wet here…we dogs would love a sun puddle!

    Fuzzy and Boomer

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/?s=The+Adventures+of+Fuzzy+and+Boomer&submit=Search

  12. You are too cute Cupcake!

  13. If there’s one thing I love and look forward to, is seeing you wearing your cute dresses and costumes.

  14. Don’t think I’d get a jacket on Archie. Boots never! He’d think he was being punished. You’re a good sport. Enjoyed that video.

  15. I can’t wait for winter!!!

  16. You have quite the wardrobe, Cupcake! I think we both agree that barefoot or bare pawed is best. Lovely portrait of you both!

  17. Great post C! And will that picture of you and your Mom become your new, updated, and improved avatar? It looks great! Your Mom really adds to your fur color. πŸ˜‰

  18. Oh Cupcake I thought about getting Anne boots, because with her back injury she has problems when she goes out in the snow, but after seeing your video I am DEFINITELY having second and third thoughts on it!
    Marty’s Mom

  19. Enjoy all the lovely fall fun, Cupcake, and you just show those pumpkin freaks who’s boss! No one would dare harm a hair on anyone as cute as you πŸ™‚ Love that picture of you and your mom! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, SLH. I usually tuck in my tail and circle around the freaks hoping I can outrun them if it comes to that. I hope it doesn’t come to that….

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. Wow Cupcake, that is quite a lot of activity going on! Snow is one thing we are not ready for, let alone the apparel!

  21. Naps. Yay!
    And why can’t you visit? You do libraries and the VA. What’s with these schools!
    Love the costumes. (I won’t tell Jeff)

  22. That’s a lot of counting Cupcake! Whew! I sure hope you get to go to school with your Mom this year.

  23. Love all those cute outfits, Cupcake ❀

  24. Love the picture of you and your MOM! Cupcake you love your Mom so much.. you kept walking to her in those boots. When I was little, long time ago, we had a doxie and my Mom bought her little red boots.. she did not do as well as you with them on.. πŸ™‚ Fall is the bestest season!

  25. Oooh, thanks for the reminder Cupcake, I need to get my pups boots!!

    I hope the snow doesn’t touch your belly either. πŸ™‚

  26. OMC Cupcake, you are one of the most funniest dogs we know…the boots are soooo adorable on you, but you’re not marching together with your mom, do you? ..MOL .. if you do, you sure can beaten the Pumpkin-Freaks-Are-Everywhere-Trying-To-Kill-Me-Pumpkins. Pawkisses for a Happy Thursday πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Thanks for the support, Little B. I can’t get from place to place in the boots. Hopefully, they’ll fall off when I walk in the snow with them. Pumpkins. Ugh.

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. Great post Cupcake. Fall has lots of great smells too…. pumpkins… don’t worry about them.. the boys her water them… snow, we collies love snow but Dad hates it… he gets the growly old tractor out and fights with it….. we love your outfits.. you are so cute! -The Collies

    • Thanks for the encouragement, collies. Today, I was afraid of the arrangement of pumpkins, corn stalks, hay bales, and mums that the landscapers put together on our corner. Mom had to carry me past. Fall. Ugh. *shiver*

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. stanleyandkatrina said:

    Oh no, I hope our owners don’t see that boot wearing video and get any ideas! Your jacket is nice. I wonder if they have that in orange?
    ~Stanley

  29. Wow…that video of you wearing boots reminded me of how Kali runs….a little awkward looking but she gets there….she doesn’t like things touching her paws either.

    (((Shoko)))

  30. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Oh Cupcake,

    Oh no, is it nearly Halloween? It still feels like summer here as it’s so hot (in the 90s today) – maybe Mum will forget to get me a costume as she won’t realize it’s October? πŸ™‚

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

    • I hope the heat keeps up for you, S, so you can trick your mom. I don’t mind my costume at all, but the whole apartment complex is crawling with pumpkins, skeletons, and witches, and this morning, I had to bark at a ghost on someone’s porch!

      Love and licks,
      C

  31. Oh boy, sounds like you just had a birthday, hope it was fun. The doggie boots are really something else. I had a dog named Buddy for many years. He used to get big snow globs on his paws when we walked in the winter. So boots might have made it less tiresome because he’d sit down in the snow every 10 feet to clean them (which of course made it worse).

  32. […] 98.Β School visits are Mom’s favorite part of being an author. When she reads her books and talks about writing, she feels like a teacher again. She plays games and answers questions. Some of her favorite questions are: “How long does it take to write a story?” and “Where do you get your ideas?” and “My cousin Tommy has a pet hamster.” – which isn’t a question, but it makes her laugh. […]

Leave a Reply

