Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Almost…

April-Calendar-2014-PDF

Spring is almost here. I mean it’s here on the calendar, but in real life, not so much. Mom and I look for flowers outside, but we’re not seeing a whole lot.

daffodil1

Almost there…not quite…

The grass is still kind of brownish and slime-ish in spots. And the wind still turns my ears upside down.

daffodil4

Also, the rain has Mom bringing out my raincoat every couple of days. April showers and all that….

rainy

Real, actual spring – street nap spring – takes longer to happen, I guess.

street rest

Chilly tummy.

Stories take longer than expected sometimes, too. The calendar says we’re 10 days into the month, but we’re not seeing much of Mom’s April manuscript. The idea is still brownish and slime-ish, and wind and rain in Mom’s head are slowing down the progress. Her ears aren’t upside down or anything, but I’m hearing an awful lot of “Here we go.” and not an awful lot of, “Yay. I’m finished.”

I think the rain wetting the soil and the wind flying the seeds all around are putting down the groundwork for the real season.

This is definitely a sign of spring...

This is definitely a sign of spring…

Like the rain and the wind, mind-writing and planning are putting down the groundwork for Mom’s story. The daffodils are starting to pop. I hope Mom’s story will pop soon, too.

daffodils bloom

 

 

Comments on: "Almost…" (61)

  1. We’re ok with Spring taking her time to show up ‘cos that hopefully meant that Autumn will take her time showing up here…but based on the way dada closes windows and doors every night we think Autumn may already arrived *sigh*
    Wally & Sammy

    • Autumn is something like spring, W and S. It takes its time and makes us wait. I’m usually a good at waiting. I’ll keep checking out the window.

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. Whee were wondering when Spring would get here but she’s finally arrived for us. Hope she visits you soon!

  3. Cupcake I bet you can hardly wait for a nice WARM street nap……and I’m sure that like the Spring flowers, your Mom’s story will be blooming like crazy REAL soon!

    Hugs, Sammy

  4. I like your raincoat Cupcake! I hope inspiration springs to your mom! 🙂

  5. fredrieka said:

    oh momwithoutpaws is raking and raking and dumping the debris..

  6. Cupcake, we just can’t wait anymore for spring to come. Apparently it’s in our forecast for today and boy I can’t wait to get outside and chomp on that grass!

  7. They say that raindrops of the April-showers bring good luck :o) But I rather wear my raincoat, think I’m lucky enough :o)

  8. Cupcake I am sure with all the ground work mum will soon be blossoming and blooming 🙂 all the hard work helping her will surely pay off ….pee ess love that raincoat…makes me want to smooch you ;0 hugs Fozziemum xx

  9. I hope your mom’s story will spring to life soon! Those daffodils are pretty. We’re seeing lots of April showers, but not much sunshine in between them!

  10. I’m desperately seeking green, but so far nothing. Keep up the search Cupcake, you’ll find spring!

  11. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Hey Cupcake

    Sorry to hear you haven’t got spring yet buddy! We sure have spring here, it’s in the high 80S! 🙂

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  12. You look like an intrepid sailor in that jacket, plus it matches the flowers – I dig it! Figuratively – don’t go actually digging the flowers.

    • Ha! Thanks for the warning, W and E. I am not allowed to dig. Mom says I look like the Gorton Fisherman in my raincoat. That’s good…right…?

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. I see greenery and daffodils — don’t see any in my yard. Just green shoots. You look great in that rain coat. Since I don’t put clothes on Archie he’d think he was being bad. Archie is having surgery right now to remove a mole on his leg and a tooth pulled. He’s going to have to wear a cape/cone so he can’t bite his incisions. I put it on him two days ago and he tollerated it. Wanted to introduce it before he actually has to wear it. He just looked at me like “what did I do wrong?” Going to be a long 10 days of recovery until we can take off his cape.:) There is an advantage to your wearing dog outfits — you’re used to them.

    • OMGoodness, P. I hope Archie has a speedy recovery and doesn’t have to wear the cone of shame for too long. You are smart to let him get used to it a little. Whenever Mom dresses me, I think we are going out someplace fun.

      Love and licks and prayers and happy, healing thoughts for Archie,
      C

  14. Brownish and slimish can bring beautiful flowers – and stories.

  15. Brown & slimish…I like that description. Tell your mom not to worry. It will happen eventually.

  16. Whee hope it starts to warm up now, fur all our sakes! Looks like you had an awesome walk out in the (half) sunshine.
    The Pigs xx

  17. Spring IS coming, Cupcake! We must believe! 🙂 Even though we still have patches of snow up here on Blueberry Hill along with our very brownish and slime-ish and barely greenish at all grass! Your mom’s story will come too. I know it. She is very clever and a talented writer. Take her for a good walk and show her something inspiring 🙂

  18. We’ve been in the spring mode for too long, here in the Pacific Northwest. The frogs and birds are starting to sing their morning songs. The sound is inspirational. Maybe you need some of nature’s music? Love your raincoat, Cupcake! Do you have a pair of sunglasses for the summer?

  19. Spring is definitely here in Western Washington. A lot of cherry blooms have already come and gone and the bulb flowers bloomed a couple of weeks ago. I am super glad….and we didn’t even have the terrible winter many parts of the country had.

  20. Hmmmm, if I could send you and your mom some bites from our spring! In contrast to the last four-five years, we have a beautiful, long-lasting spring.

  21. This post sounds like a pretty good story to me.

  22. Cupcake, Spring will spring, and stories too, only April doesn’t know it yet 🙂 Pawkisses 🙂

  23. Yay for Spring! That brown slime will be flowering soon:-)

  24. The life of a professional writer is never still…always, always a deadline, whether self imposed or not..Mom’s book will be finished and Spring WILL COME…

  25. We seem to be heading for an early winter here in South Africa 🙂

  26. Cupcake, you keep on encouraging your mom. You’re a ray of sunshine. 🙂

  27. Genevieve, your dog is adorable! Great pictures. I love the daffodils! 🙂

  28. Cupcake – Sometimes, ideas, like flowers, must be hidden underground, for a really long cold winter, to POP in the spring. I think Mom’s seeds are cookin’ – Lulu Belle

  29. We are so glad winter is over!!! I know how your mom feels.. somedays I have ideas galore for our blog.. other days… well…. I always wanted to be an author but can’t handle rejection and time is always an issue.. but someday…. keep up the great work, we love your blog and hope tog et into a regular visiting schedule again… the collies send their hugs!

  30. […] And also, spring is coming little by little. Some flowers started growing […]

Leave a Reply

