Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Switcheroo Day

photo2

This is how my toy box has looked for the past couple of months. This morning, Mom decided to switch out these toys for the bag of toys that was hidden in the closet.

photo4

She does that every now and then. So half of my toys are always out and ready for me and half are always hidden away. On Switcheroo Day, it feels like Mom went shopping and bought me a big bunch of new toys!

mess2

Yay!Β Hello, peppermint ball. I’ve missed you… Plus I forgot I ever even had you!

photo

Mom plays Switcheroo Day with her stories, too. She is working on two stories and a poem at the same time. She switches back and forth and back and forth between them each day. She says, “This one is flying along.” and “GAH!Β I only wrote 6 words in a half hour.” and “Who’s going to clean up this mess?”

photo3

The stories (if she ever finishes them) will be her November and December 12×12 stories. Neither story is about me. One is about pajamas and one is about a cyclops. Maybe the poem will be about my peppermint ball. In fact, I can write that poem myself….

typing2

….I want it to say, “Peppermint ball, peppermint ball,

You make my breath smell sweet.

I’ll toss you, chew you, roll you around,

And hold you with my feet.”

On second thought, I’ll leave the poetry writing to Mom….

sleepy

Comments on: "Switcheroo Day" (58)

  1. They swap my toys around! It’s exciting when they change. I think your poem is cute. Sweet dreams!

  2. We think your poems great Cupcake. What a fantastix idea, swopping the toys round πŸ™‚ Love your little bed xxoxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  3. I like your switcharoo days. Your mom has a great idea.

  4. Swapping is a great idea Cupcake..i swap from room to room and project to project..keeps them interesting and me nimble πŸ˜‰ you are too adorable and your poem is pawfection! hugs Fozziemum xx

  5. Oh Cupcake my Mom does that with my toys too! Isn’t it great when something OLD is NEW again???? I purrrrsonally think your poem is FABULOUS and would encourage you to put together a collection and publish it. Yep…why not? If you’ve got it – flaunt it!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  6. You clearly take after you mom Cupcake, so talented, we loved your poem. And how clever is your mom doing the switcheroo with your toys…pawsome!
    Wally & Sammy

  7. stanleyandkatrina said:

    Cupcake –

    We love your posts and we enjoyed your poem!

    ~/(^.^)\ and =^.^=

  8. That’s aperfect way to change the toys, that’s like christmas every time :o) My mom switches between stories while reading, she most reads two or three books the same time. That’s when she can’t come “into a story” or when a story is predictable. Then she reads another one and after a while she has no clue about the first story and the thrill is back when she reads on :o)

  9. Congratulations on all your new toys. You’re a lucky dog.

  10. Your Mom is very clever to switch your toys around. ~Fenris & Family

  11. Oh, very cute! πŸ™‚

  12. Never heard of a peppermint ball. Will have to look for one. Archie only plays with balls, rawhide bones and very hard rubber balls. He thinks there is a squeaky toy in stuffed animals and chews them up searching. But, we have a basket like Cupcake’s. Like the poem!

    • Thanks, P. Archie would like the peppermint ball. It’s an Orbee ball. The peppermint smell has faded, but Mom will try anything to help my mouth smell good….

      Love and peppermint licks,
      C

  13. What a fab idea!!

  14. Oh Cupcake, what beautiful photographs! We always find interesting toys at the bottom of our toy box too, ones that we forgot about! Just this morning, our Mommy found a hole in her sock and she took it off and tied a knot in it and gave it to us. We have been playing with her sock all day! It’s funny how we find F-U-N in the silliest things, eh? Your Mommy is awesome with switching out your toys every once in awhile, that way, we always think we’re getting new toys!

    • Thanks, N and B. A sock of your very own! That is amazing! Mom’s socks are all named Don’t-You-Dare. I’m hoping to score a glove the next time she leaves the bottom drawer open, though….

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Oooooh, a glove! Now that is a prize! Don’t tell anyone, but sometimes Bella steals Daddy’s stuff out of the laundry basket and runs through the house with it! It’s funny when Mommy finds undies or his t-shirts in the hallway. LOL

  15. We used to have switcharoo day. But these days Walker hides all the toys outside. So taking a walk has become like an Easter egg hunt. We can be going along and “Oh look, there’s that peppermint ball!” or whatever. Makes walks pretty interesting. I like your poem and think that your Mom needs to pay more attention to your talents.

  16. Cupcake, you should all your toys available at all times so you can always have one wherever you are! Wooooowooooooo!

  17. He is absolutely adorable and really high energy I bet!

  18. Hey dogfriend. I am all about good smelling dog breath. Can Rocky have some of that? Happy Switcheroo Day. Ask mom when it’s Happy meeting for Breakfast Day. πŸ˜€

  19. Great idea to switch back and forth between stories and toys! Your poem is quite good, Cupcake.

  20. Switcheroo day seems like a great idea! Cupcake, you must have inherited your mom’s talents….your poem is terrific πŸ™‚

  21. OMG, Cupcake, you and your mom are sooooo brainy girls! If I’m working on a paper, I’m not able to write anything else because my brain gets totally occupied by that single topic!

  22. Hey Cupcake

    How cool you got a whole new load of toys (kinda)! πŸ™‚

    I have mine in a big box and sometimes I go burrowing down to the bottom and find something I’d totally forgotten about!

    Have fun,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

    • You’re lucky, S. I never dig down in my toy box. Truth be told, I’m afraid of the toy box, so I wait till Mom picks out a few toys for me each day. Those are the ones I play with.

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. I can see it now – Cupcake Petrillo, Dog Poet EXTRAORDINAIRE! πŸ˜€

  24. Love the switcheroo idea and the poem, Cupcake! I wish Wonderbutt would leave his toys in decent enough condition to make them worth switching!

  25. The only toy switching I get is when my person sews up the ones I’ve chewed up and puts the squeakers back in them. I love squeaky toys.

  26. I’ve discovered I can write far more efficiently if I’m working on 2 novels at once. By the time I get stuck in one, I’m usually unstuck in the other!

  27. Your mom is a busy lady! Love your toys! Very few toys last around here…. just Branwen’s bat, Walter’s football and Lad’s “ball”… all others get gang destroyed! Your typing looks like Mick’s…. excellent job Cupcake! πŸ™‚

  28. […] works on one story and when she gets stuck, she switches to another one till she gets stuck. Then she switches again and works on the third one for a while. […]

Leave a Reply

