Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

But there was one other thing that the grown-ups also knew, and it was this: that however small the chance might be of striking lucky, the chance is there. The chance had to be there.”
― Roald Dahl, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

eyeball

I struck lucky when Mom found me a few Decembers ago. Purrs n Pups found me in Georgia in a kill-shelter, where my puppies had been adopted…

puppies

….and I was left behind.

They brought me to foster care and my foster-mom brought me to an adoption event where Mom found me.

petsmart

She said some bad words like, “Too small.” and “Too old.” But then she said some good words like, “I’m taking her home!” and “This is my new dog!”

My first day at home.

My first day at home, I said, “This is my new couch!”

Mom is always waiting to strike lucky. She works on stories, revises them and revises them, makes cover letters, signs them with her lucky pen, and submits story after story to magazines, book publishers, and agents. Whenever Book #2 gets accepted, that will be her lucky day.

PiBoIdMo is helpful. Mom gets a new idea every single day during that month.

piboidmo12winnerlarge

Mom’s 12×12 Challenge is helpful. It keeps her writing new pieces every month.

12-x-12-new-badge2

The class she took named Making Picture Book Magic was helpful. It taught her about planning a story to make sure it has all the parts it needs.

magic

Her writing group named DavidLaurieandOtherDavid is helpful. They help her stories get better and better.

Where's the work? This looks like a party!

Where’s the work? This looks like a party!

Her computer friends at RateYourStory help her by giving her a reality check about what she writes.

RYS

And of course, I help her by taking her to the park to clear her head,

under the bench

staring at her while she’s working,

face

and sometimes, I fall asleep on the iPad and type LLLLLLLL with my ear.

LLL

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (57)

  1. I’m sure that taking your mom out to the park helps a lot, Cupcake. When my bipeds are very busy, I make sure they take a walk with me for a break.

  2. Awwww Cupcake…we had no idea you were an adoptee. How lucky you found your mom and that she found you!! AND that you turned out to be such a great help to her with her writing an all xxx

  3. Oh, Cupcake, I didn’t know you had puppys..or I forgot… the picture teared me up. So good your mom came at the right time in the right place to pick you up. I think you’re the greatest inspiration for your mom’s work. And now I’m leaving a big pawkiss on your sweet, adorable head… 🙂

  4. That was a lovely story Cupcake, so pleased your Mom was at the right place at the right time or else she might not have found you.. You are the cutest and we adore you xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  5. That is the bestest story whee have ever read. There is no happier story than that of a doggy finding a new home and loving hoomans ^_^

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  6. My Dearest Cupcake,
    You tugged at my heart strings when I read about you and your pups. How sad you must have felt when your pups were adopted and taken away from you, but I am glad that your Mommy came and found you and gave you a great Forever Home.

    Both Bella and I were rescued and now have the best home ever! Bella was found roaming the streets in Cleveland when she was under 2 months old (someone dumped her off somewhere) and I came from a litter of 7, and after our Mommy gave birth to us, she was poisoned with anti-freeze and died. The APL was called in to save all 7 of us as we were without a Mommy to feed us. We fought for our lives to survive, and we all eventually made it to good homes.

    We know what it truly means to be rescued into a good, loving home and we thank each and every person who finds it in their heart to rescue a dog, no matter what the age, and gives it the love they need.

    I can’t tell you how many times in one day that I hug & kiss my two dogs, as I am so grateful for all the love they give me.

    You are one lucky doggie Cupcake to have the bestest Mommy around! Not to mention, I have seen some of the cool outfits you wear too.

    • Thanks, V & N. I hope my puppies are all happy and safe. All of us rescues have had difficult lives with many question marks in them. There’s no question that we ended up in the right place, though! 🙂

      Love and licks,
      C

  7. Oh Cupcake…..what a sweet but sad story about how your Mom found you and what she did when she DID find you….took you home to that pretty couch and a forever home. I’m sure you inspire your Mom when you give her that totally adorable look with those great big eyes. It’s all about LOVE…….an “always and forever” kind of love. I put that same look in my eyes when I look at my Mom so I know what I’m talking about! I hope your Mom strikes it rich with her book because it goes nicely with the fact she struck it rich when she found you!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  8. Cupcake, we are so happy your Mom struck gold with you! She got quite a great find. Your Mom is so motivational, she does so many things and we are truly impressed and inspired!

  9. stanleyandkatrina said:

    Cupcake – what a lovely story about how your Mom found you. A little sad but a lovely, lovely happy ending. You do such a great job taking care of your Mom and giving her the breaks she needs. Sending virtual hugs to both of you!
    ~The Stanley & Katrina Gang

  10. Love your story Cupcake! And that picture of you looking at your Mom reminds me of a look I get from Archie when he’s had enough of my being on the computer. You were really lucky to be rescued by your Mom. You seem like a very calm dog. We rescued Archie too — he was a breeding dog and sired many beautiful pups. But, he was caged most of the time for 4 yrs — he grew once he was out of the cage and has been very healthy.

  11. LLLLLL for lucky day! It’s coming. I can feel it in my old bones. Book #2. YAY! Come on publishers! Wake up you ol’ rattlesnakes!

  12. You got a golden ticket and I have a feeling mom will get hers soon too!

  13. Cupcake, good thing your mom found you to help her with her work! What would she have done without you? Wooooooowooooooo!

  14. Cupcake you and your mom are both super lucky…You have a great furever home and your mom has a pawsome writing assistant…perfect synergy

  15. What a great story Cupcake, I’m so glad you and mom found each other.

  16. What’s a KILL-SHELTER??? Great adoption story! 😀

  17. I am so glad your mommy found you, cupcake!
    *hugs*

  18. Oh, Cupcake, you are the sweetest. I am so happy that your mom found you and you found her and now you have each other. 🙂

  19. princess guinea and ariel said:

    such a cute doggy! whee love you!
    princess guinea and Ariel XOXOXO

  20. Love the quote, so glad you got lucky finding your mom (and she you!), and I know you’re mom is going to strike it lucky with more than one of her stories one of these days soon – she has worked to create her own luck! 🙂

  21. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Hey Cupcake

    I didn’t know your adoption story, I think both you and your Mum struck lucky that day, I love a happy ending! 🙂

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  22. Oh, Cupcake, what do you think: if I changed the background in my computer to your pic and this way, you stared on me when I was working, would my computer turned out to be a lucky one?
    I’m sure that your LLLLLLLLs carry a very deep hidden meaning.

  23. Cupcake the world puts us all together even when we think it is not right somehow it always ends up to be the perfect pairing 🙂 Lovely pics sweet one hugs Fozziemum xx

  24. You and your Mom make a perfect pair! Life if full of those lucky days. You just have to watch for them. I’m rooting for Your Mom’s next book! Rah,Rah!!

  25. We say your mom struck lucky when she found you! What adorable puppies you had! We loved learning more about you! God Bless You!

    • Thanks, C. And Collies. I think my puppies were super cute. Plus in a spooky turn, they look exactly like Mom’s old dog named Smoki who lives in my belly and helps me be a good girl.

      Love and licks,
      C

  26. Cupcake, You are your mom’s lucky charm. And I’m sure book 2 will happen. Probably when your mom least expects it. Hope you and your mom have a wonderful, amazing holiday. Lots of tasty treats to come in 2015! 🙂

  27. […] hour. After one hour, her brain is fried, so she spends the rest of the day dreaming, talking, and wishing about writing. Also, she does mind-writing, watching and listening for ideas, reading picture books, […]

  28. Cupcake you are a super golden gem of a pup. Sending dog hugs.

Leave a Reply

