Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Back Together

Mom came home from the hospital, just like she said she would! Whew! She told me she’d come as fast as she could. Lila and I waited and waited.

photo3

Victoria did a lot of activities with us so I didn’t have time to be bored or worried.Β  But after a while, I got tired out from all the excitement.

photo4

Finally, Mom came home. I was VERY excited to see her!

photo5

Mom said, “I missed you!” and “Were you a good girl?” and “Ow! Ow! Ow! Get your bony head off my sore knee!” It’s great to be back together!

My stuffed watermelon toy is back together, too.

photo6

It accidentally got broken while I was waiting for Mom to come.

Now that Mom’s leg is all back together with a shiny, new knee, she has to get her writing life back together. Getting back on track with her 12×12 writing is the first step. I hope she has the energy.

photo1

She also has some stories to submit or resubmit. I hope she can stay awake long enough to get it done.

photo2

And there’s a story to revise after it was critiqued at Rate Your Story. There’s lots to do. I hope she isn’t too tired.

photo7

Comments on: "Back Together" (99)

  1. Cupcake you look plum tuckered out by all the excitement of mums arrival home!
    I am sure mum will have you up and at em in no time πŸ˜‰
    Hugs Fozziemum

    • Thanks, FM! Mom is letting me rest along with her. Waiting is hard work!

      Love and licks,
      C

      • It sure is Cupcake…she will be heaps better soon…and I remember my precious pups and kitties helping my knee get better..with lots of cuddles..and by avoiding my crutches!…well most of the time πŸ™‚
        Fozziemum hugs x

  2. I’m glad your mom is home again. Give her my best wishes for a speedy recovery.

  3. Oh Cupcake, Mom and I forgot that your Mommy was having surgery and were wondering WHERE’S OUR CUPPYCAKE lately!!!!! Now we know and we’re so sorry we forgot. DUH. I blame Mom – she’s getting OLD you know…..hee hee. Anyway, I know you’re happy to have her home and you’ll have to be super careful when you hop up on her lap – I’m sure she’s sore and it will be a while before you can have nice long walks. It’s better to be INSIDE anyway on these super hot hot hot days! Please give her a SAMMY HUG from me and a HUMAN HUG from Mom…….oh and we send one (or two or three) to you too!!

    Love, Sammy (and Mom)

  4. I’m so happy with you. Your mom is together with you an she has a brandnew knee and your watermelon is as good as new too. What a monday full of good news!

  5. Looks like all that waiting was so strenuous. Be careful as your mom’s knee gets better. No tripping or jumping allowed. Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty may, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

  6. You’re putting me to sleep Cupcake! *YAWN*

  7. Ouch, hope the surgery went well, and Cupcake – get some sleep there!

  8. Hoping your Mom is feeling better and we are so happy you got your watermelon put back together!

  9. So glad your mummy is back and her knee is almost healed.
    Hope the writing goes well xx

  10. Wishing mom a speedy and full recovery!!!

  11. Aw Cuppiecake we missed you!!!!! We’re very happy to have you back! Big licks for mom…and you too xxx

  12. Glad to see the gang (and the knee) are back together!

  13. Welcome home to your Momma! Be gentle with her knee!

  14. Yippy! So happy your Mom is back. Now you can snuggle wiff her (and your frosty paws pup).
    Is you watermelon your favorite toy?
    Wags,
    Ranger

    • Thanks, R. My favorite toy is always the newest one. So yes. For now the watermelon is my favorite. Mom bought it for me to play with while she was away.

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. I think you’re confused about who’s tired. Mom had the energy of a two year on Red Bull and the tenacity of a pit bull’s grasp!
    Welcome home, mom. ❀

  16. Cupcake, take good care of your mom! Hope her recovery is swift.

  17. Hi, Cupcake and Cupcake’s Mom!!! Hope you both rest up and hope you soon heal and recovery, Genevieve!

  18. WELCOME HOME MOMMY! We are so excited to hear that you and Cupcake are reunited again! I bet you missed each other badly! We are happy that you are on the road to recovery too! Love you guys! Nikita, Bella & their Mommy too!

    • Thanks! We love the road to recovery. Soon we will be on the road to the park for a long walk!

      Love and licks,
      C

      • You know what is so neat? When people can meet on a blog and just become instant friends – that is how I feel about you. You always make me smile and I love that. I am just so happy that you are back home and can snuggle your adorable cupcake! It would kill me to be away from our doggies.

      • Thanks, V. Mom and I love all our boggy friends, and we missed them like crazy. Being apart from each other was as difficult as it sounds. We hope you never have to find out.

        Love and licks,
        C

  19. Oh, Cupcake, we’re so happy your mom is back and that you’re both together again. We hope mom’s knee is doing fine and will get better day by day. I think you’re very tired too, but when you’re awake, please check up on our blog, because we left something on it for you and your mom. Pawkisses πŸ™‚

  20. Catherine Johnson said:

    Ooh take care!

  21. Oh my goodness…that last pic is beyond a.dor.a.ble!!!! We send you oodles and oodles of well wishes and a strong recovery. Please take time and be great to yourself. We will be right here following you and Cupcake along the way!!!! -Hugs

  22. Hope your mum soon feels better!

  23. mollieandalfie said:

    So pleased everything went well with Mom.. Now you two take it easy xx0xxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  24. Great job waiting, Cupcake. As you know, the zoo waits a great deal when Mom travels, and it is really hard. So good that you had a nice human and furry to stay with. I am very jealous of your Mom’s new knee. Do not jump on it – EVER! Enjoy all your extra snuggles. – Lorian

    • Thanks, L. Mom is planning to be one of those people who says, “I don’t know why I waited so long.” She likes her new knee a lot. So do I. It’s a great pillow.

      Love and licks,
      C

  25. Well, your Mom should have no excuses for not doing all her homework while she’s recuperating. I’ll bet you’ll be a good nurse. don’t you have a nurse outfit? Don’t let her work you too hard.

  26. I hope your mom has a quick and painless recovery. It must be so good to be back with you again.

    • Mom and I were VERY happy to be back together. Plus, Victoria visited me yesterday and I gave her a million kisses. Then I sat on Mom’s lap, so Victoria didn’t take me away again.

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. I’m so happy your mom is back, dear one! I’m even happier she has you to help her get better soon! πŸ™‚

  28. Glad your mom is safe at home with you now Cupcake! I hope she is able to have a nice quick recovery!

  29. I am so happy that your mom and her brand new shiny knee are back home with you. It looks like you’ve celebrated her return by visiting every single sleeping spot in your house! Party on, Cupcake!

  30. OMG, Cupcake, your mom seems to have learned nothing in the hospital because her stitches are more similar to the results of my sewing technique than to the work of a surgeon. She might have been sleeping there – and you only try to make up those arrears! Go, Cupcake, go! New adventures will be waiting for you and your mom soon!

    • Ha! Thanks for noticing, K. I think Mom has stopped trying to improve her sewing skills. It looks gnarly, but it keeps the fluff in. Her knee stitches are absolutely straight and perfect.

      Love and licks,
      C

  31. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Hey Cupcake

    I’m so happy your Mom is doing well, I bet you’re the best nurse – EVER!!

    Sending big wags to your Mom,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

  32. You must be so happy Cupcake…I see you snuggling with your Frosty Paws toy…You take good care of mom and help her with her writing chores…I know mom’s got to be thrilled to be home with you and Lila

    • Thanks, G. Mom is VERY happy to be home with me. She needs me to make her better. Then she promises to try this Geocaching we keep hearing so much about……

      Love and licks,
      C

  33. Welcome home! I hope you are taking good care of your mom, Cupcake!

    • Thanks, WIM2S! I’m doing my best. When I help Mom, she says, “Ouch.” and “Get off my leg.” and “Move.” a lot. I think that’s good. Right…..?

      Love and licks,
      C

  34. So glad your mom made it home. Looks like camp did to you what the dog hotel does to me. I come home and do nothing but sleep for about three days.

  35. Yay! Glad you are home again and on the mend!

    Sam

  36. Oh Dog! I’m so glad your mama is back home! I hope her knee heals up real soon and that you do get to take those long walks she promised.

  37. Cupcake,

    You appeared to be VERY busy welcoming your mom home from the hospital in these photos. We hope your mom is doing better and wish her luck submitting stories.

    Bella and DiDi

    • Thanks, B. and D. Mom is getting better, thanks to me. Every chance I get, I plop my bony head on her knee. She usually says, “Ouch.” I’m pretty sure that means it feels good….. Right?

      Love and licks,
      C

  38. So glad you Mom is back and all good! Nice to meet yooowooowoooooo, Ku

  39. We hope your Momma’s knee is feeling better and that you will be able to go out on an adventure real soon!! Have a nice weekend!

  40. So glad your mom is back on her feet, must be so nice to have her back, glad your watermelon got fixed up too πŸ™‚

  41. Cupcake I am so excited you’re going to be a geodog! That is super!! Tell your mom that not all caches require a lot of walking…some are even called “park and grabs” and you can drive right up to them *hint hint*

  42. Even though I’m about a month late replying to this, I’m so glad your mom is home and on the mend and that you two are back together again! Be extra nice to your mom while she heals, Cupcake πŸ™‚

  43. You must be so excited that you mom is back. What a brave mom you have.

  44. Oh, I am so glad your mom is back home and safe and sound after her surgery, Cupcake! I bet she missed you terribly too. Now I hope that her knee will heal quickly and feel much better πŸ™‚

  45. Somehow I missed you were having knee surgery. I hope you’re doing well and able to walk around now!

  46. What beautiful pictures!!! Hoping mom’s knee feels better soon!

  47. […] is starting off the year right with a story revision that she’s been doing for a few weeks, now. Her writing group gave her tons of good suggestions […]

Leave a Reply

