Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Five Word Friday

Today’s five words are about important parts.

photo3

1. Eyes. When my eye opens, it can look out for danger and treats and toys ….and mischief. When a story opens, it determines whether a reader will continue reading or say, “Whatever…” and go on to something else.

photo4

2. Nose. My nose is always on the move – twitching and sniffing and nudging all day. It tells me where my friends are, and helps me find crumbs on the floor, treats in Mom’s pocket, and goose poop. Yum. A story has to keep moving, too. Every single word has to make something happen otherwise, it’s gotta go.

photo5

3. Nails. Nails are a problem for me. It’s not just the two-tone colors of them, but also the fact that they keep growing. A story needs to have a problem, and the problem has to keep growing, too. The characters have to spend the whole story trying to make it better, but the problem has to get worse….just like my nails.

photo1

4. Ear. My ears stay alert, in case I hear any of my favorite words: dinner, treat, car, out, park, go-get-it, wanna-go, bacon, and kisses. Words in a story need to be playful and sound smooth. They need to tell the story, but show more than tell.

photo6

5. Tail. My tail has a mind of its own. It smacks Mom in the face, wags when I see friends, and hides underneath me when I’m afraid. The tail end of a story needs to wrap up what happened, and make the readers feel good.

All those parts (and about ten million more – including a lot of heart) need to fit together just right to make a perfect story. Or a perfect dog.

photo

Comments on: "Five Word Friday" (45)

  1. What a nice post about your baby!

  2. LOVE this post…sooooo precious!!!! Thanks for the big smile you gave us…Trev sends his love to Cupcake too!!!!

  3. You are such a cutie Cupcake, I have to go get my nails cut on Friday..Yuk I hate it BOL xxooxx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • Ugh. Good luck, Mollie. When I’m afraid, my best strategy is kissing and licking the groomer so much that he can barely see out of his glasses. He laughs, and it makes me feel better.

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. Perfect dog? That’s you my little Cupcake friend……all five of your parts are adorable and we all think that look on your face is priceless – I bet your Mom thinks so too!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  5. How sweet! But stay away from the goose poo Cupcake, naughty!

  6. Hiya, Cupcake!
    This is Ginger. I’m using my Mama’s email. Heehee.
    I just want to add that you forgot you tongue. : op I mean, come on. You get to lick all kinds of interestimg things, like faces, ice cream, windows… Don’t forget the windows. Haha! Tasting is an added sense to include in your stories too when you can.

    Our Mama sure are interesting, aren’t they?!?
    Gotta go. Mama just said, “Treat!” Woohoo.

    Happy tail-wagging!

    • Treat is the magic word, Ginger! Smart girl! And you are right. Tongues are important, in stories and around the house. Licking floors and windows is important work for us dogs. Not to mention tasting friends and giving love.

      Love and licks,
      C

  7. What a cute blog post! All very important parts!

  8. Perfect!
    And a totally interesting, informative, and maybe even yummy post – if you print it out. πŸ˜‰

  9. Awww.. Cupcake, what a lovely story about your impawtent parts of your doggie being and all in close up, that’s so cute, that I want to noses and, of course, a Pawkiss πŸ™‚

  10. This is great Cupcake! You are such a smart girl! You’re always talking about your Mom writing stories, but I’ve never seen one! I need to find her book! They don’t have it at my library. I need to look harder.

    • Thanks, Rhythm. I hope your library gets Mom’s book in there soon. They don’t know what they’re missing! Plus, Mom has a story in this month’s Humpty Dumpty Magazine. Maybe there’s a copy of that, at least….

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. You’ve got the perfect ingredients for a great story, Cupcake! No wonder mom and I always love reading your blog so much πŸ˜€

  12. You made the perfect illustration to that tale, Cupcake. I also have a few dark nails.

  13. I had to have my nails cut the other day, was not impressed!
    You sure have the perfect ingredients to make the perfect cuppycake:-)

    • Sorry about the nail trimming, M. I am always afraid when I go, but then I remember that I love the groomer guy, so when it’s my turn, I am happy and I give him lots of kisses.

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. woofies don’t come much more purrfect than you Miss Cupcake…smoochie!

  15. You are definitely the perfect dog, Cupcake! Love those nails!

  16. I know you’re perfect in your mom’s eyes Cupcake.

  17. This is a perfect blog entry! I enjoyed it very-very much! And it could be continued about your whiskers, the brown areas on your head, the nice black spots on your body, your mouth, your tongue, your smooth fur, your tummy, your clever little brain, and about your warm heart.

    • You’re right, K. Thanks. We may have to do a sequel! Mom can show my tongue and tell about those BAD stories that come along now and then. Bad like my dog breath.

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Hey Cupcake

    Sounds like you’ve got it all working together pawfectly! πŸ™‚

    Big wags

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

  19. Love this post. It was so cute, smart, and personal. Parts of the whole.

  20. You are perfect Cupcake!!! πŸ™‚

  21. What a clever premise! So fun to draw the parallel’s between parts of a story and parts of your cute little best friend. Especially because of all the close, close, close-ups of Cupcake! The ‘nose’ shot was my favourite. I also noticed your new header right away. Very adorable in that Christmas collar. I like how mom explained things, seems like good info to review now and again xo Boomdee

    • Thanks, B. Sometimes I’m shy about my less perfect parts, but you make them seem perfect. Either way, they’re necessary to make me as perfect as I am. πŸ™‚

      Love and licks,
      C

  22. […] that are old and worn out, and some that are just about right. Today’s five words are about growing and changing. It’s good for characters, good for stories, good for authors, good for […]

Leave a Reply

