Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Countdown Wednesday

Spring has finally sprung around here, so Mom took me to the park. Today, we will count down what we learned there.

What I Learned at the Park

3. Cigars are delicious. At the baseball field, I found a cigar butt. It was all crushed and stepped on, but I liked it anyway. Mom said the word, “Don’t you dare eat that.” She says that a lot. I sat and guarded the cigar for a little while, and I managed to lick it once or twice when she wasn’t looking.

cigar

2.  Bats smell good.  There was a dead bat behind one of the benches. I sniffed him and wanted to sit with him (taste him), but Mom said the word, “Get away! Get away! Get away!” She says that a lot, too.

bat2

1. Flowers are pretty. We saw some little flowers that looked like stars. They were pretty, but they got even prettier when Mom added me to the picture.

flowers

 

What Mom Learned at the Park

3. Pick and choose.  The dead bat, crushed cigar, and yellow flowers reminded Mom of her idea list on her phone. Some of the ideas are dried up and petrified, some stink, and some look like stars. She tries to always pick an idea that seems like a star.

star flowers

2. Sit with the stars. When Mom starts a new story, with a star idea, she mind-writes with it for a while. She needs to add lots of good stuff to the idea till it becomes a story. She added ME to the star flowers at the park, but she doesn’t add me to all of her stories. I wish she would….

photo

1. Get away. After a story is finished, Mom has to get away from it for a while. She doesn’t think about it or look at it or work on it for a week or two.  After she’s away long enough, she can see the story more clearly – what’s good, what needs work, and what stinks.

If I stay away from the park for a week or two, maybe I can go back and see what stinks.  Yay! I can’t wait!

sniffing

 

Comments on: "Countdown Wednesday" (49)

  1. Awww, you sweet little Cupcake… adding you into the pictures makes it all complete 🙂

  2. You had us cracking up Cupcake with that cigar butt..BOL Love the photo’s, youz just super cute xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  3. Dead bats is make you sicky Cupcake! Noooo! Cigar butts make your tummy scream too…

  4. You are so funny, Cupcake 🙂 and MUCH better behaved than my dogs. They like to snatch up nasty dead things and then the word I have to say is, “EWW DROPITDROPITDROPIT!!!!!!!!!!!” And sometimes they roll in it and then we have to go home and have a bath. Your mom’s got it right though with her stories! 🙂

    • Thanks, Susanna! I learned LeaveIt at obedience school. If Mom is quick enough, she says that and things fall out of my mouth. If she’s too slow, it’s a crap shoot. That’s when I get lucky.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. Oh what TREASURES you found at the park Cupcake! Moms never quite understand stuff like dead bats or stinky old cigars (or dead mice!) – you look like you’re having a grand time though.

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  6. You make everything better Cupcake! We think your mumma should write a series of children’s books about you 🙂 x

  7. Cupcake, the park is a great place to learn lessons you wish you didn’t have to learn. Dead bats, now that’s a sight!

    Piggy Kisses,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  8. Smoking it’s a no no Cupcake, the bat is understandable, it’s like a dead frog, they are tempting. I like how you help your mom learn thing at the park too.
    Pick and choose is extremely important.

  9. Cupcake, I always wonder what my Archie is thinking. I use many of the same statements as your Mom. You’re good you mind. Archie sometimes just looks up at me and keeps on sniffing and going into areas I don’t want him to. Like your Mom’s process and how she tied it into this post.

  10. Your mom is just trying to look out for you with those first two things Cupcake! But I think you do look nice in the flowers.

  11. It sounds like your Mom has a good plan with her writing and ideas and I’m sure you help a lot, Cupcake! They don’t like me investigating interesting things like dead bats.

  12. Love the ideas about writing, Cupcake! But I think your Mom is right about the cigar and the dead bat. They might seem cool, but they’d probably make you sick, and sick is not fun. You look great in the flowers! You’re a star, too!

  13. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Hey Cupcake,

    I think your Mom should add you to all her stories cos you’re a little star!! 🙂

    Big wags,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  14. I think your mom is very smart. I’ve put down my writing now for about 5 months, and I’m trying to figure out ways to adjust my schedule and get back to it.

    It’s funny you mention the cigar, there is a Rhodesian Ridgeback in our Nose Work class and his mom said, “I can pull him away from food, a person or another dog by using leave it, but I can’t pull him away from a cigarette.” I wonder what the appeal is?

    Stay away from those Cupcake, they’re very bad for you!

  15. Cupcake,
    This is Linus! Shhh. Don’t tell mom I’m using her computer while she on vacation….I just wanted to tell you–I feel your pain!

  16. I wonder if dead bats smell as good as dead mice? if so then well done if you resisted. I don’t think I could’ve in your paws!

  17. I don’t know why mom doesn’t write a whole series about you! You’re a very interesting character.
    P.S. maybe you should try to stop and small the roses. You need to mix it up with those odiferous discoveries.

  18. What an adventure Cupcake…The flowers are lovely but you are adorable!!!! Happy weekend sweet one!!!!

  19. Glad you found flowers Cupcake!

  20. Oh my, just think what a wonderful stink there’d be after two weeks 😀 Love your posts. So funny and entertaining and clever.

  21. I think Cupcake that you are a very-very brave doggy. I would have screamed and run away when I had seen a bat, even if it were not alive any longer. Yikes!

  22. Very good life lessons. Not sure about the cigar licking though.

  23. Oh, cupcake. Cigars are icky for you. I suspect, however, that bats taste yummy (don’t tell mom I said so) and may be nice and crunchy if they’re old and dried out. Still, I think a dog treat is better. And the flowers are very, very nice – particularly if YOU are next to them. You give everything pizzaz. Duke says “Hi!” and ‘Kinley says, “Licks to you!”

  24. Boy! Some great treasures there! I’m glad you got some licks in. Mom Persons sure do “Blah,blah, blah” alot. And turn adventures into boring. I’m glad your Mom got something out of it all. Good lessons you provided her with. It’s nice when they listen to us, huh?

  25. We say Cupcake should be in all the pics!!!! Especially the one with the bat!!! *drool, drool* But the old guy tells us dead bats can cause bad problems and despite Ginger saying it isnt so we trust him more… 🙂 You are gorgeous Cupcake!

  26. Dead bat, a crushed cigar? Your park is a treasure trove! I love the pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

