Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Side by Side

I learned to walk nicely at obedience school. I walk slowly, side by side with Mom. I don’t run ahead, pull her in one direction or another, or zig and zag all over the place trying to trip her.

footprints

Sometimes people say, “What a good girl.” and “Nice walking.” and Mom says the word, “She has her moments.” I think she means that even though I walk like a good girl a lot of the time, once in a while, I go mental and start running around in circles until I’m almost airborne on the end of my leash. Then I flop down for a rest, even if I’m in the middle of the street.

 street3 

Mom’s two stories are going along nicely side by side, too. She writes a little of one story and then she writes a little of the other. Both stories are close to being finished, and so far, neither story is zigging or zagging, trying to trip her, running around in circles, or taking a nap in the street.

street4

Comments on: "Side by Side" (57)

  1. Oh Cupcake you are one silly pup! Glad your mom’s stories are going well!

  2. Look at you taking a nap in the road..bawahhaaaa So pawleased Mommy’s stories are going well 🙂 🙂 xxooxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  3. I like to sit in the street too and eat sticks, but daddy tells me off:-(

  4. I’m glad the stories are going well. Can’t you find somewhere nicer for a nap? It doesn’t look very comfortable!

  5. Aww, that’s so sweet cupcake! By the way, I moved back to WP.com Cupcake, thought you may want to know. Happy licks!

  6. So cute Cupcake, walking beautifully, then going nuts and finally sleeping in the street. You really are quite a little character. Glad to hear your Mom’s stories are going well. So exciting.

  7. Well Cupcake, I can see that you are MOSTLY a very good girl on your walks with Mom but lying in the street for a brief rest? You’ll get your pretty white fur all dirty!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  8. Sounds like your mom’s stories are going well, Cupcake! And neither of my dogs walks particularly well on a leash – one wants to go meet every other dog we see and pulls like a freight train and the other is afraid of every dog we see and wants to go home… and I’m in the middle 🙂 They like to go mental together, chasing each other around the yard like complete lunatics. But they have fun 🙂

    • OMGoodness, Susanna. It sounds like you have your hands full. Maybe you can say, “Don’t pull.” 5,989 times, like a certain other person I know…..

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. You are both bob bob bobbin’ along nicely 😉

  10. Our worst enemy is the street nap – it trips Mom up every time!

    Sam

  11. That’s a wonderful “walk of fame” with your foot- and pawprints :o) Good thing that your mom’s stories going well :o) Please be careful on the street, Cupcake… that’s not really a good place for a nap :o)

  12. Just be careful you don’t trip your mom up!

    Good news about her stories!!

  13. It’s okay to walk outside the lines sometimes. You did make very pretty tracks! We bet those stories will find the perfect ending.

    Piggy kisses,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  14. Don’t worry, Cupcake, it’s good to the zoomies once in a while 🙂 I am glad your mom’s stories are not getting the zoomies though. I think zoomies are better for pups than for stories…

  15. Cupcake, I like your pawprints in the snow next to your mom’s, but please don’t nap on the streets… that’s for cats, you know 😉

  16. Wonderbutt could be heaving his sides and gasping for air, but he would not stop for anything.

  17. Dear Cupcake! I’m so jealous of your moves! My mom keeps trying to reign me in like this and I am a self-proclaimed obedience school drop out. Good thing I have my looks to get me by otherwise I’d be in real trouble. Well done! 🙂

  18. OOO sounds like fun, but maybe not the napping in the street!! Be careful

  19. Oh my, Cupcake, the STREET?!? Please tell me no cars drive on that street!

  20. Oh, Cupcake, both you and your mom are super smart! I’m working on a single paper but it definitely refuses to go along nicely. It is zigging and zagging, trying to trip me, running around in circles, and taking a nap on the floor. I go mental and (virtually) start running around in circles until I’m almost airborne on the end of my invisible leash.
    BTW, a video about your getting airborne would be fantastic!

    • Thanks, K. I think Mom is too dizzy to make a video of my circle running. She is busy trying not to fall over. I think your paper is being very naughty. It may need to go to obedience school because it “doesn’t know how to conduct” itself.

      Love and licks,
      C

      • What a fantastic idea! Cupcake, you are a genius! An obedience school for papers!!! You are a Very Big Brain!
        Your mom should ask a friend to make a video about your getting airborne! Either a superb production would be captured or you would refuse to do it “in public” – maybe, your mom would vote for the second option 😉

  21. Cupcake! Please! We need you to come here and teach Duke how to walk next to me! He went to obedience school, but he is … um … feisty. His calm is like your “mental” only instead of running in circles he darts all over. I’d love to see your “mental” on a videotape. That would be grand!

    • Go, Duke! I admire a dog that resists school. I am a sucker for Cheerios, so I was forced to learn – for treats! If Mom wasn’t so busy trying to keep her balance, I’m sure she would record me running in circles!

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  22. you are really just about the cutest lady woofie Cupcake and so aptly named!! Your Mom adores you however you walk with her…

  23. Two stories…. side by side. Maybe one should run zoomies… just for giggles?

  24. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    You’re so cute cupcake, did you get struck by the power of the nap? It can strike at any moment!!

    Sweet dreams,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  25. Oh cupcake! Taking a nap on the street proves just how much you are afraid of nothing! You guys should enter our giveaway!!! Cupcake the princess could definetly use it 🙂

  26. LOL.. dont sleep in the street Cupcake those cars are not nice!!!! Trevor did that once…. I almost swallowed my tongue in fright.. of course out here the cars go 70 mph! No time to get out of the way….

  27. […] actual spring – street nap spring – takes longer to happen, I […]

  28. […] School – I studied hard at obedience school when Mom first adopted me. I am a brilliant graduate of Hal […]

Leave a Reply

