Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Trying

It snowed again the other day. Just when we were getting ready for spring, and the flowers were starting to grow, snow tried to crush them! But those flowers are tough. They will keep trying.

flowers

I used to know how to bowl with 10 water bottles. Then Mom bought me bowling pins and I forgot what to do.

She practices with me a lot. Even though I still get confused, I’m tough. I will keep trying.

 Mom writes, revises, and submits stories all the time. Some get rejected, some get ignored, and some get lost in the slush pile forever. Last week, she got a happy letter and sent a happy contract.

contract

It’s not Book #2, but one of Mom’s stories will be published in Humpty Dumpty Magazine in May. We’re excited and happy to have an acceptance! But for Book #2, she’ll have to keep trying.

Comments on: "Trying" (63)

  1. Wow, Cupcake, I’m impressed by your bowling, but keep on smiling, it has to be fun, you know 😉 Congratulations on your mom’s story 🙂

  2. Your bowling is impressive, Cupcake.
    Congratulations to your mum on her story being published.

  3. Yeah a strike Cupcake..So funny 🙂 Big hugs and congrats to Mom, how exciting xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  4. Cupcake you can make “re-learning” to bowl look like lots of fun – AND you look so cute too! I should have had a bowling competition at camp….no doubt you would have son – bowling pins in the sand would have been interesting don’t you think??? Congratulations to your Mom on her story for Humpty Dumpty…..that’s wonderful!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

    • Thanks, Sammy. Pins in the sand would not be good. I’m a little afraid of sand. Sometimes I step on it at the baseball field, but it turns me mental, so Mom brings me back into the grass.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. I know all about that keep trying. Rejection makes me feel sad, but friends like you help me get over it….. And keep trying.

  6. Good job bowling, Cupcake. But when you don’t want to you make it clear! Congrats on the acceptance mom. 🙂

  7. Success at last Cuupcake. Congratulations to your mom for having her story accepted to Humpty Dumpty — not easy to do!

  8. What fun you have bowling! Congratulations to mom on having her story accepted! That is exciting news.

    We are still waiting for spring too Cupcake, I imagine she’ll get to you first.

    • Thanks, Jodi. The groundhog was a big, fat liar, so we are not expecting spring for a few weeks, still. When Mom takes me to the park, we walk for 5 minutes and then sit in the car and drink coffee to warm up.

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. Congratulations to your mom – that sounds great!!! You are a great bowling expert Cupcake, I’m not good in bowling, I always snap one of the pins and chew it to pieces :o)

  10. Cupcake, Way to go with the pins. Your mom has many interesting ideas for you so sometimes you just sit on the sofa and ignore her I see! haha
    BTW-tell her Congrats on her book publication…YAY!

  11. Yay Cupcake! Yay Mom! Bowling and writing are HARD!

  12. Great bowling Cupcake! That is so exciting about your Mom – she must be thrilled! We bet book #2 will come in no time 🙂

    Piggy kisses,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  13. That’s too cute. The first video had me cracking up – “Eh, it’s Friday, I’m just gonna go curl up on the couch.”

  14. sqquuee!!!Cupcake!! YOU BOWL!! and huge congratulations for Mom and her story being published!

    • Thanks, Savannah! Mom forces me to learn new things all the time. Who knows what her next idea will be. That’s why I keep stalling around with the bowling.

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. The first video wouldn’t play for me but 3 pins in the second is pretty good 😉 I’m sure bowling can be tiring, you were probably just resting. Pawsome job in the last video though – a strike! Congratulations to your mom!

  16. That bowling looks pretty fun! Congratulations to Mom for her great success!

  17. YAY Cupcake! 😀

  18. I have faith in #2. Just like I have faith that spring will be busting out all over – real soon – and that you will get the knack of the bowling pins!

  19. Wow, Cupcake! You sure know what to do with those bowling pins at the end! And you’r mom got another great story published! All that trying is paying off!

    PS: You look very beautiful in your fancy dresses 🙂

  20. Cupcake, your mom is doing awesomely! That’s at least the third magazine acceptance in the last few months! Happy dance, happy dance! Book #2 can’t be too far off 🙂 And don’t worry, I’m sure you’ll get the hang of bowling soon too 🙂

  21. Keep working on the bowling. My goal is the lowest score when I bowl with friends, this way I am not upset that my skills are very poor and I still have a great time. Contrats to Mom. I loved HD mag when I was little (or was that Highlights?), anyway, it is a great accomplishment. Keep bowling for contracts!

  22. Wow!!!! Please tell your mom congrats on the new publication…and to never ever give up…you are a bowling champ!!!! Cupcake would be a great bowling league name!!!! Love and hugs–

  23. Big congrats to your mum, that’s fantastic news!

  24. Congratulations on getting your story published. So great to get good news mail. Cupcake, you are just too cute.

  25. I am so pleased to hear that your mom received a happy letter! Well done mom!

  26. Hard work always pays off! Congratulations!

  27. Cupcake and bowling! Is there anything better! I think not (well maybe some real cupcakes might be nice!)

  28. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Yay – Congratulations to your Mum for her story getting accepted!! Do you know how many times JK Rowling got rejected? Keep up the great work, and that goes for you too Cupcake, you’ll get a strike before you know it – oh and I love your pretty little dress!! 🙂

    Have fun,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  29. Congratulations to your mom being published Cupcake!

  30. Oh how cute!!! We love you bowling. CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR MOM GETTING A STORY PUBLISHED!!!! YAY!!!

    • Thanks Chuck and Collies. Bowling is fun, but sometimes, I still forget how. Then I stare at Mom till she wants to pull her hair out. That’s fun, too.

      Love and licks,
      C

  31. […] 26. Walking – Getting from the garage to the house can be slow-going. I stop to sniff. I smell the flowers. […]

Leave a Reply

