Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Five Word Friday

Today I will ask 5 questions that have had me thinking lately.

1. Why is coffee so magical?

coffee

I think coffee makes people smart. Whenever Mom sits down to write, she always puts a cup of coffee next to the computer. I think it magically helps her brain.

2. Is a laundry basket a bed?

basket

Bed is a good place to read books. Mom reads books a lot. A laundry basket is a good place to sleep. At least until Mom says, “OUT!”

3. Can a light chase away monsters in the dark?

light

When Mom writes about monsters, dragons, dinosaurs, or cats, I am afraid. I am also afraid of the dark. And balloons. And the golf cart. And pumpkins. And street signs. And soccer players. And….

4. Is a dog head good medicine for a sore knee?

knee

This is how I help Mom when her knee hurts. I help her with her writing, too, mostly by staring at her when she’s trying to work.

5. If a chair is not pushed all the way under the table, is it OK to climb up and eat cake out of the box? I love cake.cake2

Speaking of cake and coffee… Thanks to our friends at DogDaz for inviting us to coffee and our friends at Bumpy Road to Bubba and Angels Whisper for including us in their coffee party.  Definitely take a visit to their blogs, if you haven’t already. Also, we will include ALL our blog buddies in our coffee party, so feel free to take the badge and answer the questions if you’d like to join us.

coffe-date-phot

1) How many cups of coffee per day? Mom has 2 or 3. I have as many slurps as I can beg, borrow, or steal.

2) What is your favorite caffeine delivery system? Mom likes her Keurig. I like when she leaves her cup on the table and doesn’t push in her chair.

3) What was your best cup of coffee?  They are all perfect.

4) What was your worst cup of coffee? No such thing. Even the stale, strong coffee in the teacher’s lounge at Mom’s old school, was delicious to her.

5) What does your favorite mug say? Mom’s favorite has a c-c-c-cat on it.

6) How do you take your coffee? Cream and sugar – very light and very sweet, just like me!

7) When was your first cup? Mom drank coffee flavored milk when she was little. My first taste was the morning after Mom found me at the rescue event.

8) Have you ever gone on a coffee tea date? We’re on one right now!

cat mug

Mmmmm….

Comments on: "Five Word Friday" (40)

  1. I love coffee too! I couldn’t function without it when I worked. I had to be at work at 6:45 am everyday! When I became pregnant, I was sad about the no coffee thing. I stopped drinking it for a little while but did some research and decided it was OK to have a small cup once a day or every other day. I don’t drink coffee much anymore because I’m not too sleepy anymore usually.

    • Smart to do research, Ann. I would be happy with one cup a day, but Mom says I can only lick the bottom of the cup when she’s finished. It probably amounts to a cup every 3 years!

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. Cupcake, you’re so right. A dog head… and a cat on the lap… is the best medicine for pain injury and sorrow. Thanks for the coffee party and pics. We had a great time 🙂

  3. Smart mug Cupcake – but you don’t need coffee to make you clever 🙂

  4. BOL, that’s why my Humoms fick..she drinks tea.Bawaahhaaaa Lovely scrummy looking cake 🙂 xxxooxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  5. What an adorable post. Coffee is just the best and I agree, it obviously makes us cleverer 😀 Your head is probably the best medicine ever!

  6. One of my bipeds likes coffee and the other one only drinks tea! Cupcake, can your tongue reach the bottom of that mug?

  7. That was a great post! I’m drinking my Keurig Caramel Vanilla coffee as I read it 🙂 Great picture, Cupcake.

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  8. I’m sure you like cakes … it’s in your name. I don’t like coffee, I tried it once but it was bitter so I sneezed it back in the cup ;o)

    • Sneezing coffee back into the cup shows that you have charming, good manners, E. Nice work. 3 spoons of sugar and some cream makes the coffee less bitter for me.

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. Oh Cupcake! Naughty dog devouring the cake!!

  10. Hi Cupcake!! What a great bloggy today……lots of fun hearing all about coffee in your house……my Mom only has ONE cup of coffee in the morning – she hates “decaf” so won’t drink it PERIOD…..because she’s has a weird heart valve thing she can’t have more than just one cup. I’m VERY good at making sure she behaves herself. I follow her up to the studio while she drinks it and give her the “stink eye” if she even THINKS about getting another cup. Coffee and cake are a grand combination – you look like you’re enjoying that cake on the table – hope you snarfed up a big chunk of it before your Mom found you! Tee Hee

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

    • Thanks, Sammy! Using the stink eye will keep your mom on the straight and narrow. The cake was as good as it looked. My tongue was going so fast, it was blurry.

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. That cake looks yummy! I think if its left within reach then it’s for you 🙂

    • That IS the rule, M.! There aren’t a lot of things I can reach around here, so if they let me climb onto the table, I will not pass up the opportunity!

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. Now you know #4 (the knee support) is perfect for us too! Let’s have coffee again soon.

  13. Cupcake, any way to get to the cake is acceptable. Or anything else edible that you can find.

  14. Do either of you get any sleep?!?
    I’ll take mine black 🙂

    • We’d rather drink coffee than sleep, Gemma. You have seen Mom in action. You have even matched her cup for cup in between all the talking. Coffee. Yum.

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. We love coffee, too, Cupcake! I’ve been drinking it since I was a little girl (like your Mom) & the Two Orange Pups like whatever I share. A good day today for lots of coffee – which I drank (while the Pups had blueberry treats).

  16. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Great questions cupcake!! I sure think you got the answer right to the chair not being pushed in properly, clearly they were helping you to get up onto the table to the cake!!

    Enjoy,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  17. You are too cute, funny, totally hilarious, and downright adorable!

  18. Oh yay, thanks for including us. Bella also thinks any pile of clean washing (particularly a pile that has just been brought in from hanging in the sunshine or got out of the dryer) makes for a perfect bed. Warm and smells good! x

  19. ps – we love your Dr Seuss mug 🙂

  20. You ask some very important questions, Cupcake! I think that light definitely does scare monsters away and that your head is perfect medicine for your mom’s knee. Probably not just any dog’s head though; I think it has to be yours 🙂

  21. Great post!
    The old guy loves coffee but it doesnt like him…. but mom has it and we collies get a hold of it and it is then a wheeeeeee day! Yes, lights scare away monsters….. but so do 11 collies! Muwahahahahahah Dad says he went out on coffee dates with mom…. he likes Hills Brothers and he likes it black with sugar….
    God Bless You Our Friends!!!
    the collies and chuck 🙂

  22. I can relate. I drink the same coffee as your mom and it helps me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

