Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

“If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.”
~Stephen King~ 

I’m pretty sure this guy Stephen King knows a thing or two about writing. Mom believes him and takes his advice. She also forgives him for Cujo.  I am not sure I do, though. *shiver*

cujo

Mom reads a lot and writes a lot every day. Well, maybe not a LOT…. But some every day. Well, maybe not EVERY day, but most days.

Mom reads children’s books, young adult books, grown-up books, blogs, magazines, websites, email, reviews, and books about being a writer. She takes some time to play bowling with me, take me for walks around the neighborhood, throw my toys, clean up piles and piles of dog hair from around the house, and dress me up.

tutu

She also works on new stories, old stories, stories about dogs, kids,and animals, stories from her November idea list, and poems. She takes some time out to cuddle with me, brush my teeth, give me treats, teach me tricks, and take me to Petco to have my nails cut.

petco

It’s times like this that I wish she’d concentrate on her work…..

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (41)

  1. Cupcake, I send you my scratching post, then you never have to go to Petco anymore, except for maybe a cuddle and some treats, and I got rid of that huge thing that I never use 😀

  2. Hope you got lots of treats after that!

  3. You are one pampered pooch 😉

  4. Oh Cupcake….I think you and your Mom make a great team! Also I think that green fluffy tutu of yours is quite pretty too too…. 😉

    Huggies, Sammy

  5. I love Mr. King, I’ve read most of his books, however, the old ones are way better, I honestly doubt he has written most of his recent books, he probably works on them but someone else has to do the job, they are lacking something.
    You look happy having your pedi done.

  6. hmmm… I’m with you Cupcake… I’m not shure if I should forgive him for “Cujo”… but I like the most of his other books very much….. maybe Mr. King should write a book about nail cutting – I dislike it, that’s “horror” for me too ;o)

  7. The price of beauty.
    And Cujo wasn’t real 🙂
    Reading a lot and writing a lot. Don’t you wish the day was 48 hours long?
    You look stunning, by the way.

  8. Your mom really is busy. And that work pays off because you lot too cute!

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  9. Mom is hoping to get something together too. 😀

    Sam

  10. Mum loves you Cupcake! That’s why she lavishes so much attention on you. You are lucky!

  11. Our mom is a big fan of reading too. (She enjoys books written by that Stephen King fellow too) But her favorite stories are ones that include dogs. 🙂

  12. Cupcake, you surely live more than a “dog’s life.” Am surprised you mum reads Stephen King – shudder. Your Mom doesn’t need a ghost writer. Loved her “Keep Your Ear on the Ball,” and look forward to future books.

  13. Lol! Oh Cupcake your tutu is tutu precious! Get it? Anyways, I try to do the same things. I’d love to write a book one day but I am at a loss for ideas. I used to write stories all the time when I was a little girl…

    • Thanks, Ann! Mom thinks you can write nonfiction animal stories like crazy, because you know so much stuff about pets.

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

      • I found a fiction story that I wrote in middle school the other night. It’s a six chapter book/story from a cat’s POV. My eight year old has been reading it. As I was reading it, I thought my writing was better then than it is now! lol… I might share it, but I sure did write a very sad ending to the book…

  14. I was so conflicted as a child whether to love St.Bernard’s or avoid them. Beethoven was my favorite kid movie of all time and since then I loved loved St.Bernard’s. Then one day randomly, Cujo was on T.v….lol. These days though, I love them again, dream dog #1

  15. mollieandalfie said:

    Oh Cupcake, your tutu is fabulous 🙂 Loved you in your Christmas get up too…BOL we hope you has a wonderful Christmas 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  16. Great post Cupcake! 🙂 You are so cute!

  17. Really! I feel that way about Jen. I wish she’d get her priorities in order!

  18. We also love to read! Nail cutting is no fun is it! Wish you lived closer we would gladly do your nails when we do our collies….. yes we do them all ourselves….. they love the attention and treats!!!! IT is actually fun but until we learned how to do it, it was very hard and unnerving. But, a friend showed us how to do it and make it fun….. If someone hadnt taught us we would have ended up taking the collies in also for they hated it worse than we did!. You are lovely in the tu-tu. Lots of hugs from the collies 🙂

    God Bless You!
    the collies and chuck 🙂

    • Thanks for saying I’m lovely, Chuck! I love my tutu. Mom cut her dog’s nails once and never tried it again. She scared herself! The man at Petco is very nice when he does my nails. Sometimes I lick him so much, he can’t even see what he’s doing!

      Love and too manylicks,
      Cupcake

  19. Well said Mr King… and I bet you are following the advice… ? 🙂

  20. You are so funny, Cupcake! Concentrate on her work indeed! Who needs their nails clipped? 🙂

Leave a Reply

