Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Five Word Friday

Today’s five words are about the dark.

1. Fall. Now that it’s fall, it stays dark for a long time in the morning. That means it’s slow-starting around here. The longer it takes to get showered and dressed and get finished with “writing time” the longer I’m waiting around to do something fun.

2. Fall. Now that it’s fall, it gets dark really early. That means when we go outside after dinner, we only stay for 2 minutes. That’s absolutely NO fun.

3. Monsters. There could be monsters out there in the dark. Mom is not afraid of monsters, but I am! She writes about them sometimes, so she can make them nice or mean or scary or friendly. I guess if I could dream up my own monsters like she does, I would not be so afraid.

4. Dark thinking. Sometimes a writer might have some dark thinking. Dark thinking is: “I’m completely out of good ideas.” and “I can never cut an extra 300 words from this story.” and “Book Number Two will never happen.” Dark thinking is bad. If Mom starts to do it, I will always cheer her up.

5. Light! We are lit up over some awards we received lately. Thanks to our friends at Bumpy Road to Bubba for the Addictive Blog Award, to Collies of the Meadow for the One Lovely Blog, and Wonderful Team Member Readership Award, and to AngelsWhisper  and Come Wag Along for the Wonderful Team Member Readership Award. 

You can see our Addictive Blog reasons for blogging here

To be a Wonderful Team Member, I must complete this sentence: A great reader is…

I think a great reader is someone who laughs at the right times, says, “Awwww,” at the right times, and thinks I’m cute. 

Now I will take the lazy way out, and list a few of the new, fun blogs that I’ve been visiting, and invite ALL of my blog friends to feel free to take any badge/award that you don’t already have and share it.

Easy

iPhone Photoblogging

Sammy

What I Meant to Say

Doggy

Our Furever Family

Comments on: "Five Word Friday" (54)

  1. I like your take on monsters Cupcake – I’m going to remember that for when Bubba is old enough. Congratulations on all of your awards. x

  2. We know what you mean about the dark Cupcake, less time to play now 😦 Big congratulations on all the lovely awards 🙂 x00xx

  3. Awww! 😉

    Congrats Cupcake. Whee aren’t afraid of the dark because wild piggies live in little dark holes so whee can see pretty well in the dark. Whee will look after you and make sure no scary things get you.

    Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  4. Congrats on all the awards!!
    I have no doubt that you cheer your mum up, how could you not when you are so cute!

  5. Congratulations on your awards!

  6. Wow Cupcake – you got lots of new awards! How exciting is that?! AND you were kind enough to mention ME ME ME too. Thank you for that. I’m sorry that sometimes the monsters give you a scare – I worry a bit about them myself – I think they live under furniture where I can’t see too well so I just avoid those spots and if I lose a toy under a chair I run and get my Mom and ask her to pretty please get it for me! Moms are handy for that (and a few other things!). 😀

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

    • Thanks, Sammy. I’m glad I’m not the only one afraid of the dark. When my toys go under the couch, I think they’re gone forever. I am always surprised when Mom digs them out.

      Love and licks,
      C

  7. Congrats on all your awards, Cupcake, they are well deserved! It’s getting light later around here, too, which means my dogs and I are starting our morning run in the dark and we have bears around here so I talk to them a lot while we run so the bears will hear us coming and go somewhere else!!! I’m glad your mom has you to chase away her dark thoughts. I think I could use some Cupcake time, too. Dark thoughts have been a little too prevalent around here lately!

    • OMG, Susanna! BEARS!?? Now that is scary! If the bears don’t frighten away the dark thoughts, just take a look at my happy-picture and you’ll feel better.

      Love and happy licks,
      C

  8. Congratulations!!! and thank you very, very much!!! don’t worry about the “dark season” it could be amazing to see how our eyes glowing green in the dark :o)))

  9. Hi!

    Just curious, it’s only Thursday morning here, where are you guys located?

    • Hi Kat N Collies! It’s Thursday morning here, too. (I’m in NJ) All days seem the same to me, because of my tiny brain, so just because my post is named …Friday doesn’t mean it’s Friday.

      Love and confused licks,
      C

  10. Way to cupcake….I love the fall. Enjoy some hot cocoa on these dark winter nights to keep you warm and happy.

    • Thanks, Illustration Junky! I’m not allowed to have hot cocoa, but Mom has a candle that smells like it. One of these days when it’s not lit, I plan to taste it. I’ll let you know how it goes….

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. NO DARK THINKING! I know book 2 is just around the corner because I want mom to be in next year’s book fair here where I live. And two books will make a stunning display.
    Congrats. Awards. YAY 😆

  12. Patricia Nozell said:

    Cupcake,
    Your thoughtful posts always manage to chase away our Mum’s dark thoughts, too. Mum is spending way too much time raking leaves and we’re waiting later for our walks, too. Mum lights lots of candles for us to brighten up the gloomy spaces. Sometimes they even smell pretty, too.

    Happy fall,
    The Two Orange Pups

    • Thanks, Pups! Our candles smell pretty, too. Someday, I will try to eat them, in case they’re delicious. When your mum rakes up the leaves, run into the piles. I think that would make her very happy…. maybe…..

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. Aww top marks for cheering up Mommy if shes dark thinking! The hamsters try to cheer me up if Im feeling bad, but sometimes the excitement of being out of the cage proves too much fun and they wee on me.. This doesnt cheer me up ;( Thank goodness I have your blog Cupcake! 😀 xx

  14. Those monsters are cute.
    Congrats and thanks for the award.

  15. Concatulations on your awards!

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

  16. Congratulations on your blog awards, Cupcake! I agree…Fall gives us too little daylight; however, the colors are gorgeous!

  17. You deserve all the awards and more!!! You have a wonderful blog and your mom and you are very talented. 🙂

  18. Aww, Cupcake, you’re the cutest and you certainly bring light into the dark 🙂

  19. Congratulations on the very lovely awards Cupcake. I like your five word Friday – I have never heard of dark thinking – sounds ominous!

  20. Cuppy – You are so good to scare away the dark thinking and the monsters from Mommy – Congrats on your award. Keep up the good bark – DogDaz

  21. Ohhh cupcake, you are soooo cute! There are no real monsters you know…

  22. Congratulations! 🙂

  23. Congratulations! Well, well deserved! Thank you so much for the nod, also!

  24. There’s something super sweet for you -http://clowiescorner.wordpress.com/2012/10/16/super-sweet-blogging-award/

  25. Congratulations Cupcake! 🙂 I don’t like it that it is dark so mich either!

  26. Hello cupcake, it is nice to meet you. I love doggies and help a friend rescue dogs that have been abandoned or abused. Way too many of your friends I’m afraid.

    On a lighter note, I love your blog. Although my cat told me she didn’t think dogs could write or type. She is obviously wrong because here you are doing just that. I think I am going to follow you around and see what you do next, if that is okay with you (I already clicked on follow).

    No ruff weekends. You have a dog gone good time instead (sorry, I thought I’d try.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

