Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Birthday!

Today is my birthday! 

I’m SIX years old.  I think that is the perfect age.  Mom agrees.  She says if I could go to school, I’d be a first grader, and would be learning to read. How fun would THAT be?  Then, I would help Mom with her writing work.  Sometimes, she writes stories that are perfect for first graders, but they’re not books, yet.  It’s just as well, since I can’t read yet.

To celebrate my birthday, I will have treats,

and I’ll finally get to play with my new birthday hedgehog, which has been hidden in the closet. 

I knew about the hedgehog, because I picked it out at Petco last week.  It’s been a looong wait, but I am sure it will be a blast to bite it and throw it and catch it and lick it and cuddle with it.

Mom says, “Writers are experts at waiting.” and “We have to wait for our big break. And then wait for our big break again!” and “Don’t break your new toy!”

I don’t know about Mom, but I’m tired of waiting!

REALLY tired of waiting.  Let’s party!!

Comments on: "Birthday!" (51)

  1. Woo woo woo, happy birthday our little far away friend! Try to save some of your treats for tomorrow because that makes your birthday last longer. And if you eat them all at once you might get a sore tummy because your tummy isn’t as big as mine 🙂 Your hedgehog looks like lots of fun. 6 is right in between Bella and me, so we think it’s perfect too. Lots of loves from me (Beary) and Mumma and Bella and Bubba too xox

  2. Happy happy happy birthday, Cupcake! Enjoy that hedgehog, and all the treats (but like Beary said, maybe have a few now and a few later.)

  3. Happy birthday, Cupcake! I hope you have a lovely day!

  4. Happy birthday Cupcake, you look like your going to have a great day, teats, new toys how Fab 🙂 Love your Cupcake bags..bol xx000xxx

  5. Happy Birthday Cupcake! Celebrate Large and all week long. You can never ever have too much birthday goodness!

  6. Well HAPPY BIRTHDAY, dogfriend. Cool toy!
    Patience pays…

  7. Aw, Happy Birthday, Cupcake! Enjoy your cake and treats and your new hedgehog! Advice from Scout and Jemma – don’t eat all its stuffing out the first day 🙂

  8. Patricia Nozell said:

    Happy Birthday, Cupcake! Six is a perfect age – and the Two Orange Pups should know – we were there a few (or more) years ago, too. Eat slowly and savor each special morsel. And enjoy that hedgehog – a perfect present for a perfect Pup!

  9. Happy Birthday Cupcake!!! Awwwwwwoooooooooo fromt he collies! You are absolutely beautiful and we hope yo have a beautiful and wonderful day!
    Lots of collies hugs!
    the collies and chuck 🙂

  10. We saw it was your birthday so we stopped over! Happy Birthday Cupcake! It’s our grandma’s B-day too!

  11. Happy Birthday! ❤ Love

  12. Happy Birthday Cupcake! It looks like you are having a great celebration! 6 is a great age. DiDi and our Poodle nephew Toby are both 6 and they are having a fabulous time.

    Bella and DiDi

  13. Happy birthday there Cupcake! He’s so cute. 🙂 And thanks for coming by my place too. 😉

  14. Happy Birthday, Cupcake! Your gifts are lovely! I really like your cookie bouquet!

  15. Happy birthday, Cupcake! Here’s to many more birthdays and many more chew toys…;~)

    Donna L Martin
    http://www.donnalmartin.com
    http://www.donasdays.blogspot.com

  16. Hi Cupcake! I wanted to say a BELATED Happy Birthday – I was distracted yesterday with my Mom’s birthday and didn’t know “Little Miss Love and Licks” was ALSO celebrating but I do hope you have a wonderful special day. I think your hedgehog is way cool – my Mom got one of those for my Cousin Mollye and she LOVED it too!

    Thanks for visiting my blog to wish my Mom a happy BD………

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

    • Thanks, Sammy! My birthday was super-fun. I even got to work at the library last night for Read-to-a-Pet-Night, so I got to listen to lots of kids read stories to me. They petted me and gave me treats, too! Fun. I hope your mom has lots of treats for her birthday! xo

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. oh my goodness, this is way too cute. thank you for following my blog! I will be following yours too. I love this!

  18. Happy birthday, Cupcake. I’m a little belayed, but I hope the party hasn’t finished yet and that there are treats left -but I don’t think so- and that you’ve had a great birthday. Watch out for the hedgehog, he can prick you 🙂

  19. Awww Cupcake, no new post? Grrrrr…. 😉

  20. Wooo hoooooooo! Happy birthday Cupcake! It looks like you got some pretty pawesome presents!

  21. Oh my Dog! I can’t believe I missed your birthday! I hope it was the bestest ever! woo woo woo!

  22. “Happy Belated Birthday to you! 🙂
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜
    ¸¸.•*¨*•░H░A░P░P░Y░(¯`’•.¸ *♥♥♥* ¸.•’´¯) ░B░I░R░ T░H░D░A░Y░ (¯`’•.¸*♥♥♥*¸.•’´¯) Hope you enjoyed YOUR special day!
    ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦╦═╣╚╣╚╦╝╠═╦╦╗
    ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║╬║║╔╣╔╣║║╬║╬║║║
    ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚═╩╩╝╚═╩╩╩═╩╩╩╗║
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Birthday .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥Happy Birthday to youuuuu ♪♫•*¨*•.¸.•*¨*•♫
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”

  23. Happy Birthday. 🙂 I saw you on Cheryl’s blog today. You “liked it” and I thought to check you out. This is the first one of your articles, I’ve opened. Best Wishes, Elena

Leave a Reply

