Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Hope and Things Like That

Sometimes Mom gets rejections.  She got TWO of them the other day.  TWO. At once.  I’m not much with numbers, but I think two means a LOT!  Now she hates the mailman, just like I do.  She said, “This mailman has it in for me.” And I said, “Told-ja.”

But after she marked the rejections in her book and shredded them (so they don’t bring bad Karma), Mom went right back to having hope.  Hope that she’ll finish her next story for 12×12, hope that her writing group (named DavidLaurieandOtherDavid) will give her some good ideas for her last story, hope for Book #2, and hope that I will learn to fetch a ball one of these days.

Our Collie friends and Chuck passed us the Hope badge in the Hope Relay.  Mom says, “That’s a good sign.” and “Hope is a good thing.” and “Bring it here! Bring it here! Bring it here! RATS!”

I have hope, too.  Hope that I can have a frozen ice cream treat today,

hope that we can go to the park later,

and hope that she’ll forget about this fetching stuff and let me keep my baseball in my toy collection on the couch.

My friend, Misaki, has been thinking about me lately.  How do I know? She sent me this!

Thanks, Misaki!

I’ve been thinking about my friends at Hamster Diaries.  They’ve had a rough time lately, and now that they’re bouncing back, I want to pass the Hope Relay to them, and share the Thinking Of You Award, as well.

I’d also like to pass the Hope Relay and Thinking Of You Award to Bassa and Barnaby at Bassas Blog and their Tall Person at Georgia About.

While we’re at it, I entered a fun contest at Mollie and Alfie’s Blog.  Even though we didn’t win, we got this cool badge, anyway.  Cute Huh?  Thanks Mollie and Alfie!

All I had to do to earn it was look like this for a few minutes…..

Comments on: "Hope and Things Like That" (32)

  1. Hey Cupcake, tell your mummy not to give up, afterall rumour has it JK Rowling was rejected 12 times when she tried to get Harry Potter published. So your mum still has another 10 tries at least 😉
    In the meantime, congrats on your awards!! You look super cute in your raincoat. I hope you get some ice cream later xx

  2. I hope, your and your moms wishes came true!!! Love your picture with the raincoat!!!

  3. Cupcake, I’m with you on that ‘fetch’ nonsense! If they wanted a dog to fetch, they should have got a retriever.
    Congratulations on your award. I hope the next letters the postman brings contain better news for your mum.

  4. Wez sending telepathic good luck to youz…next one the postie brings is gonna be a winner 🙂 Fantasic that you got the award..youz deserve it and I’ms glad youz liked yor badge 🙂 Worth having to dress up for hay..??
    Have a great day
    Mollie xx00xx

  5. Adorable, as always.

  6. Good for mom. Keep writing. Don’t let those rejections slow you down!

  7. Rejection is hard, but it is not the falling down, but the staying down that is failure. You always get right back up, so that ‘Winner’ badge seems perfect for you. Keep trying – #2 will come your way.

  8. Hoping that your mom gets some acceptance letters soon. And that you get more ice cream treats.

  9. So sorry to hear about your mom’s rejections, Cupcake, I KNOW how much they hurt! Luckily she has you to cheer her up 🙂 And I think the difference between writers who succeed and writers who don’t is hope and the willingness to keep on trying. This attitude might also work for fetching 🙂

  10. Thank you for thinking of Bassa and tall person Cupcake! Tell your mom not to worry too much about the rejections. Everything happens for a reason. I love the pictures, especially the last one – very, very funny! 🙂

  11. Oops, I forgot to say thank you from Barnaby! 🙂

  12. Well done on the award. Concentrate on the fact that we love your writing. 2 rejections in a day is hard but I’m glad you’re keeping up hope – it’s the great ones that always do. We think you are great!

  13. Hope you get that trip to the dog park! We (Ryder and Kori) got to go yesterday! And we had the whole park to ourselves!

    • Thanks, Ryder and Kori! I’m not actually allowed at the DOG park. Mom takes me to the regular park, which I like just fine. I’m a little afraid of other dogs.

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. Congratulations on your awards, Cupcake and mommy. They came right in time, as I see. There is always hope and everything comes in time. I was enjoying your pictures, Cupcake, and I was thinking of you too (check out my blog, and don’t be afraid of the cat 😉 but next time I’ll bring over some icecream for you 🙂

  15. Hang in there, it seems rejection is normal for writers. You can do it and we are cheering you on. Glad you liked the Hope Relay. 🙂 Hope all your hopes came true. We love the last picture in the raincoat! You are so cute! Big collie hugs!

  16. With the support of such a loving pooch, i imagine your mama will have only success in no time, Cupcake!

Leave a Reply

