Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Countdown Wednesday

Today, I’m counting down things that are important. 

Important things for dogs are:

3. Toys – Stuffed animals are my favorite, but squeaky toys, rope toys, and balls are fun, too. Avoid anything mechanical – those things are terrifying.

2. Treats – All treats are delicious. Since it’s summer, frozen treats are the yummiest. Mom makes them for me with yogurt, banana baby food, honey, and peanut butter.

1. Cuddling – I love cuddling and snuggling – anytime, anywhere, with anybody.

 Important things for writers are:

3. Writing every day – Mom writes for a whole hour every day. That means no playing, no being sneaky, and no being naughty. The hour flies by for her, but it’s the longest hour of the day for me.

2. Ideas – Ideas are everywhere. Mom and I get ideas at the park, in the car, when we stop for ice cream, near the garbage dumpster, in the supermarket, and while we’re walking around the neighborhood.

1. Patience – Writers have to wait a lot. They wait for a good idea to come. They wait to start writing while they mind-write for a while. They wait to see what the characters want to do. They wait to show the story to their writing group (which is sometimes named DavidLaurieandOtherDavid). They wait till they find someplace to send the story, and then they wait to see if it gets accepted. If it does, they have to wait some more to see it in print.  They don’t get bored while they’re waiting because they keep getting ideas and they write every day (see #2 and #3).

Writers may not get bored with waiting, but I do. A whole hour? Really??

Comments on: "Countdown Wednesday" (31)

  1. Cupcake, waiting isn’t always easy for writers, either. But sometimes it’s worth the wait, don’t you think?

  2. I like the lists! I agree with them both 🙂 I know Simba definitely likes all the things on Cupcake’s list.

  3. That dog is so adorable 🙂

  4. Frozen treats….yum yum gonna get my Humom to makes me some…What do yoo have in them Cupcake ??
    Huggies yor pal
    Mollie x

    • Mom makes my treats by mixing together a little container of plain, low fat yogurt, half a jar of banana baby food, a teaspoon of honey and a tablespoon of sodium free peanut butter. She puts the mixture into little bathroom cups and adds a MilkBone to use as a handle. After they’re frozen, she peels off the paper cup and holds it by the handle while I slurp it up. Yum!

      Love and peanut butter licks,
      C

      • Oh Wow, that’s definately on the menu..We only get those little plastic medicine cups I fink..I’ll get Mom to ask at the pharmacy 🙂 xx

      • 3 oz. paper cups for tooth brushing are the ones Mom uses. Let’s face it, even if they throw the stuff on the floor, it’ll be DELICIOUS!

        Love and licks,
        C

  5. This is fantastic. Cupcake you nailed the top 3 things for dogs. Since we are trying our paws at writing those top 3 seem very true too. Great photos! You are so cute!

    Bella and DiDi

  6. Awesome post. Thanks for sharing.

  7. I don’t like to wait either!!!! Maybe a toy to help me pass the time? Or a cookie?

  8. As you get older, the hours will go faster 😦
    Take a nap, watch tv, get a hobbie 🙂
    Love you, dogfriend.

  9. Cupcake, you are a model of patience 🙂 Isn’t your mom lucky that you know how to behave and not be sneaky while she’s writing! I was going to ask for the recipe for those treats because I know Scout and Jemma would love them, but someone beat me to it and I see it’s already in the comments. Thanks!

    • Definitely make the treats, Susanna! They are so yummy. Also, people could eat them, too, but not the MilkBone handle! Put in a stick or a human cookie for that!

      Love and licks – LOTS of licks,
      C

  10. Ideas are everywhere Cupcake. The tall person and me are always inspired by everything and anything we see and hear and touch. The world is an amazing place!

  11. I love toys, treats and cuddles too 🙂

  12. Pinabutter and ice.. that must be a looong chew, Cupcake 🙂

  13. A whole hour! It is a long time, but perhaps mom can run you for a while before the hour so when it comes you will sleep right through it? Just trying to think of a way to make it easier…. 🙂 The collies send lots of loves and collie kisses!

    • Ha! Ha! Ha! Woof, Chuck. Mom doesn’t do running. Ever. EVER. I do a lot of running and jumping around the house. So mostly I do sleep while Mom works.

      Love and licks,
      C

Leave a Reply

