Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Five Word Friday

Today’s five words are about flowers.

1. Careful – Always be careful around the flowers. Don’t stomp all over them with your big clumsy paws. Don’t lie down on them with your chubby belly. And don’t eat them!

2. Colorful – The flowers are as bright and perky as a good story. Stories should have lots of color, just like the garden, along with some pretty words, unexpected surprises, and pictures that stick in your mind.

3. Plan – Sometimes people like to plan how their gardens will look. Sometimes they just mix up flowers everywhere at random. Writers are like that too. There are planners and people who write with no plan in mind. Mom is not a planner.

4. Smell – Flowers smell yummy. But don’t eat them!

5. Seeds – Flowers grow from tiny seeds, just add water, sun, and soil. Stories grow from seeds, too. The tiniest seed of an idea can become a story when you add imagination, time, and work… And compelling characters, conflict, humor, a fun setting, action, playful vocabulary, unexpected twists, a satisfying ending, and about ten million other things.

6. Mulch – Sometimes flowers have mulch around them. Don’t eat the flowers, and also, don’t eat the mulch even if it looks like bacon.

Comments on: "Five Word Friday" (21)

  1. I loves smellin the flowers..Confess!! sometimes I do eats one..or two..or three. Well’s I seen Mommy put dem on her salad 🙂
    Have a great day…and DON’T eat’s the flowers..BOL
    Mollie xx

  2. You and I have something in common. I am always thinking about eating, but not mulch – yet! I am a planner. Not when it comes to writing, but I plan to have lunch with mom this week. There I go. Food. AGAIN. Well, please don’t eat the daisies, dogfriend. 🙂

    • Mom does plan lunches like crazy! By now, she’s probably already planned what she wants to eat on Wednesday. Probably not flowers. Or mulch. Probably Ruby Tuesday macaroni and cheese….

      Love and licks,
      C

  3. Don’t let them fool ya, Cupcake. Where I come from some people DO eat flowers and I used to suck honeysuckle when I was younger…;0)

    Donna L Martin
    http://www.donnalmartin.com
    http://www.donasdays.blogspot.com

  4. I haven’t eaten flowers before, but I did try to eat a flowerpot once…mummy wasn’t too happy BOL

  5. I did’t see the dog watering part? You are so cute. Mommy loves to dress you. Hope the coffee table book of Cupcake’s Closet is coming soon.

  6. I don’t eat flowers!

    But I do pick them sometimes – it isn’t appreciated.

  7. Knowing how photogenic you are all dressed up, whee hope you will enter our latest pigture competition which whee have just blogged about!

    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy
    xxxx

  8. A useful “life lesson” Cupcake 🙂 Don’t mess with flowers.

  9. LOL! Yes, be careful around those garden items. We love the look on your face by the seeds… it is amazing how from wonderful little everyday items can be the seed for a fantastic story! 🙂 Great post!

  10. LOL 😀 Have you eaten the sunflower seeds, Cupcake… you look a kind of guilty 🙂

  11. DiDi: I’m guilty of flower eating, trampling and running through flower bushes. I love flowers so much I want to experience them on all levels 🙂

Leave a Reply

