Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Even-Steven

Things always work out even-steven for me.  If I lose a ball, I find another one on the field.  If I accidentally eat the wing off my stuffed chicken, Mom buys me a stuffed goose. 

Sometimes I fall off the chair.  Other times I fall off the couch.  Sometimes, I’m naughty, and sometimes I’m super-cuddly.  Even-steven.

Mom was even-steven yesterday.  Early in the morning, she got an acceptance for her story Too Many Pets from Stories for Children Online Magazine.  She printed it out, hung it up  on her bulletin board, and said, “Yay!” and “Yay!” and “No, you may NOT eat the thumb tacks.” 

Then the mailman brought her an envelope from Highlights Magazine.  Mom said, “I bet this is another acceptance!” and “We’re on a roll!” and “Yay!”  Then she opened it (insert dramatic music here).  I was hoping she would take out the box of thumb tacks (which I’m DYING to taste), to hang it up next to the other one, but nope.  No hanging, no tacks, …no yay.

Mom said, “Bummer.” and “Rejection.” and “At least she personalized it with a little note.”

Sometimes, even-steven stinks!  But not for me! Later I plan on being super-cuddly….

Comments on: "Even-Steven" (27)

  1. Tell your mom congrats on the acceptance!!! and (((hugs))) better luck next time on the rejection and isn’t she lucky to have a super-cuddly friend like you to help her through those down moments. Maybe you should give her a treat – does she like cheerios? 🙂

  2. Cupcake Even-Steven usually works for us too. Tell your mom we are sorry about her Even-Steven experience. Be careful with those thumb tacks! They might cause heartburn.
    Bella and DiDi

  3. Congratulations. Even one acceptance in your business is a hugh success.

  4. Those people at Hightlights don’t know nothin’!
    And you are cute and cuddly. 🙂

  5. This rejection stuff is hard! I hope tomorrow that mail person brings another acceptance!

  6. bumpyroadtobubba said:

    Wow! Your mumma is pawesome 🙂 Bubba, Bella + Beary x

  7. Well’s done..BIG con-grat-ulations 🙂 Weee’s followins yooo now. Fanks for poppin by our bloggie, it’s alway’s great to meet new Furrbuddies 🙂
    Have a great day, hopes to see yooo’s soon.
    Hugs Mollie xx

  8. Congratulations on the acceptance.

  9. Congratulations on the acceptance of your mom’s story Too Many Pets. Way to go!

  10. Rejection is the hardest part of writing but it sounds like your Mummy needn’t worry about that. The good of the first thing out weighs anything else.

    Congratulations to your Mummy!

    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy
    xxxx

  11. Awww, Cupcake…I’m so glad your mom has YOU to give her love and licks when those nasty rejection letters show up. Now I think you need to take her out for a walk in the part to celebrate the acceptance letter!

    Donna L Martin
    http://www.donnalmartin.com
    http://www.donasdays.blogspot.com

  12. Cupcake, looks like you’re doing a good job on that Even-Steven-thing, I mean, eating the chicken and getting a goose…
    Congrats on your moms acceptance and forget about the rejection…looks like Even-Steven to me 😀

  13. Congratulations on one of your writings being accepted!! YAY!!!!! Love that last picture Cupcake. 😉

  14. […] wish there was a delete key for the mailman. He thinks I can’t hear him sneaking around the hallway. But I hear him out there plotting to […]

  15. […] are six, seven, sometimes ten versions of each weed. She works hard to get the virtues of her weeds discovered. So far, no good. But she is never discouraged. Mom loves weeds. She works with them and revises […]

Leave a Reply

