Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Countdown Wednesday

Today, on an actual Wednesday, Mom and I are counting down facts about learning new things.

What I Know About Learning New Things

3. It’s tough. I’m trying to learn bowling, but I still need Mom to point to each pin (which is really a water bottle) and say, “Touch it.”

2. It’s fun. When I try to learn something, it makes Mom laugh a lot, because of my tiny brain. Plus I get to eat a lot of Cheerios to help me.

1. There’s always something new to learn. Mom is planning to buy a hula hoop and teach me to jump through it. She better pick up a couple of extra boxes of Cheerios. This may take a while.

What Mom Knows About Learning New Things.

3. It’s tough. That’s why Mom has her writing group named DavidLaurieandOtherDavid. They help her figure out the toughest stuff. The rest, she figures out by typing on the computer and talking to herself.

2. It’s fun. The best fun is putting a submission in the mail or pressing Send. Waiting is fun, and Mom never loses hope that good news is on the way. If bad news comes instead, she says, “We can work on this.” and “Better luck next time.” and “It’s time to practice bowling!”

3. There’s always something new to learn. Just when Mom learns that she needs more conflict in her storis, she needs to learn about point of view and voice and a million other things. DavidLaurieandOtherDavid better pick up a box of Cheerios!

Comments on: "Countdown Wednesday" (10)

  1. Love the video! And I hear ya.. ya just gotta keep on keeping on!

  2. OH MY GOSH! That’s hysterical! So much talent in one little head. You too, Cupcake. Lol.
    Seriously, anything for Cheerios!

  3. Bowling looks like a lot of fun but I think I would need the pins (water bottles) to be spaced out a lot more! You are right – there is always something new to learn. How are DavidLaurieandOtherDavid? It always makes me smile when you mention them πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Bassa. Mom’s group named DavidLaurieandOtherDavid are doing great. Last month, OtherDavid was busy, so the group was briefly named DavidandLaurie. Either way, they have fun talking and drinking coffee and eating snacks. Somehow, that helps Mom be a writer. Go figure. You’re right about the bowling. Your fur will knock down 6 pins before your paw even hits one of them!! Because of my tiny body and sleek fur, I am working overtime!

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. Cupcake, you’re a great bowler. I loved the video, but you have to knock over a lot of pins before you get a cheerios πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, AngelsWhisper! Mom used to give me a Cheerio after every pin, but now I have to do all 10! She said, “That’s called learning.” I say that’s called… Um… “Just give me a Cheerio!!! I love treats!”

      Love and licks,
      C

Leave a Reply

