Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Writing a book is 10% inspiration and 90% not being distracted by the Internet. 

George Dyson

Sometimes I get distracted.

In obedience school, Mr. Clark taught me to always keep my eyes on Mom, and always follow her. And concentrate! That’s more difficult than it sounds. Between yummy smells, geese, strollers, birds, lost baseballs, bikes, cats, airplanes, left-behind potato chips, motorcycles, joggers, cars, and the ice cream truck, Mom has to keep fighting for my attention – and mostly losing. 

She says, “Look at me.” and “Heel.” and “Are you eating a peanut shell? Really??”

Mom gets distracted, too. She works on writing, just about every day, but I’m not sure she’s writing the whole time. She laughs at the TV, checks Facebook and Twitter, drinks coffee, pays bills, looks at Pinterest, reads blogs, shops online, eats cookies, and answers email. That’s not writing! 

When I want to play, she says, “I’m working.” and “I can’t be disturbed.” and “Come back here with my shoe!” 

…See what I mean? She’s distracted again.

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (12)

  1. I don’t know how she ever gets anything done with you around, Cupcake – you are too cute to ignore 🙂

  2. Awww, Cupcake, tell your mom that everyone needs a little distraction now and then…;0)

    Donna L Martin
    http://www.donasdays.blogspot.com

  3. Better to disturb than to be disturbed. You can quote me on that 🙂
    Both of you, play nice and let mom write. We’re all waiting on book #2.

  4. Hahahahaha! Distraction is often divine 🙂 I love the photo of you and the shoe!

  5. Cupcake! You sure know how to turn on the charm and give the sad eyes. We know mom can’t stay distracted from you for long for you are too beautiful!!! We love your blog! Those sad eyes reminds me of both my Hallies who had it down to perfection just like you!
    God Bless You!
    the collies and chuck 🙂

    • Thanks, Collies and Chuck! The sad eyes come in handy a lot, and they work every time. Mom always says her old dog, Smoki lives inside me. Maybe Hallie lives in there, too!

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. You look so cute on the last photo, Cupcake, now I’m distracted 🙂

Leave a Reply

