Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Countdown Wednesday

For the last day of National Poetry Month, Mom and I are counting down some titles of her poems.

Poems I like:

I like these because they have animals in them.

3. Simon

2. Changing Shells

1. Golfin’ Dolphin

Poems Mom likes:

Mom likes these because they’re about school.

3. Lost and Found

2. Mad

1. My Teacher’s Grandma

…We both like this one, because it has my name in it.

Raining Cupcakes

It’s not about when it was raining on me (which I hate).

It’s about the other kind of cupcake (which I love).

Here is an acrostic poem that Mom and I wrote together. It’s about the Veteran’s Hospital that I visit in my Therapy Dog work. See if you can tell which part Mom wrote and which part was written by me….

Hospital

by

Cupcake and Mom

H – Hugging brand new friends.

O – Open doors say, “Come on in.”

S – Sick friends need cheering up.

P – People smile at Cupcake.

I – In the hallways we take it slow.

 

T – Take me into that room! No that one! And this one! And that one!

A – And let’s give kisses to her! And him! And them!

L – Later we’ll come back. I can’t wait! Tomorrow? Please. Please! PLEASE!!

 

 

Comments on: "Countdown Wednesday" (13)

  1. Aw, Cupcake! You spread joy and cheer wherever you go! How lucky those veterans are that you are their therapy dog 🙂

    • Thanks, Susanna, but I think I am the lucky one. What’s better than tons of people petting and hugging and kissing and cuddling with me? They make me as happy as I make them! Plus they say I am cute a million times. *sigh*

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. Did you do “People smile at Cupcake.” ?
    No matter. Still precious and heartwarming. 🙂

  3. Cupcake you are a wonderful dog.

  4. What a wonderful and cheery post! Cupcake you are so adorable…. we love seeing you in your little clothes….. we smiled seeing you in your raincoat! We would have them for our collies but can you imagine trying to put on all those coats to let them out? They would never be able to hold it that long… LOL We love your blog and Cupcake if you ever travel to our part of the woods we may just have to “adopt” you! 😉
    Your friends,
    the collies and chuck 🙂

    • Thanks, Collies and Chuck! I had to wear my raincoat again today. It wasn’t raining cupcakes, it was a THUNDERstorm! I’m not afraid of the thunder, but I’m still a little afraid of the raincoat. Mom said, “It doesn’t matter how hard you shake. You can’t shake off the coat!” She’s right.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. I like acrostic poems Cupcake – your hospital poem is very clever!

  6. Great post, Cupcake. Love your raincoat 😀

  7. […] writing has two different sides lately, too. Poetry and prose. She worked and worked on a story and kept getting stuck. She worked on other things, […]

Leave a Reply

