Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

100!

Today is my 100th blog post! Yay, me!  Mom said, “Let’s celebrate with 100 MilkBones.” and “What a fun party!”

and then, “Sorry, Sweetie.  You can only eat one of them. The rest are just for the picture.”  So the party wasn’t quite as fun as I was hoping. 

Mom changes her mind a lot about the number 100.  Long ago when she first started writing, she said, “I’ll try submitting this and see what happens.” and “This pile of rejections is starting to grow.” and “When I get 100 rejections, I’ll give up and stop trying to get published.”

Well, she did get 100 rejections, but she changed her mind and kept trying.  101 – still trying. 102 – still trying.  I think you get where this is going…. She never did give up.  After collecting and counting those rejections for a while, Mom decided they had bad karma.  She put them into the shredder one by one. 

Now she says, “Each rejection is like a stepping stone that takes me that much closer to a contract for Book #2.”

That’s fine with me, but I’m keeping an eye on that bowl of MilkBones, in case she decides they have bad karma and decides to pour them into the shredder.

Comments on: "100!" (16)

  1. Congratulations on your 100th post! (And I don’t think Milk Bones could ever have bad karma :))

  2. Congratulations on your 100th post and even those 100 rejections. Because each one IS a step in the right direction.

  3. Catherine Johnson said:

    Congratas! Sending a virtual bone your way.

  4. Congrats on the 100th post and I can’t even imagine what MilkBones through a shredder would sound like. YIKES! Like mom, and her second book, don’t give up on the 100 MilkBones

    • Thanks, Gemma. I never give up. Mom gave me tons of those bones, even though she said I could only have one. My pathetic look combined with a little drippy drool works every time.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. Congrats, Cupcake on your 100th post…and tell Mom that “milk” is good for you and “bones” keep your teeth clean so they can’t be ALL bad…lol…

    Donna L Martin
    http://www.donasdays.blogspot.com

  6. Many congratulations Cupcake! 100 is a fantastic achievement. I absolutely love the first picture of you sitting on the chair with so much expectation in your eyes!

  7. tinamcho said:

    Happy 100th post! What a great reason to celebrate!

  8. CONGRATULATIONS CUPCAKE!!!! Love your blog and you know everytime I look at your eyes they remind me of Hallie’s. So intelligent, intense and loving. Your doing a great job on your blog and we love it! Keep up the great work and we are rooting for your mom to get published. 🙂

    God Bless you!
    the collies and chuck 🙂

  9. Congratulations on your 100 posts, Cupcake. Looks like you had a great party, I hope your mommy gave you a extra milkbone, you’re looking so patient 😀

Leave a Reply

