Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

They fall, and falling they’re given wings.

Rumi

I fall a lot. When I try to catch a toy, I sometimes stretch and fall off the couch. If I look out the window, I sometimes fall off the arm of the chair and get squooshed against the wall.

When I run, I sometimes slide and fall over when I hit the dresser or cabinets. Falling is not a problem for me. That being said, I am never given wings.

Mom doesn’t fall on the floor, like I do, but when her work comes back rejected, it’s like a fall for her. Most of the time, Mom LOVES the mailman, but when he brings rejection letters, she says, “This mail is stupid.” and “Why does the mailman hate me?” and “You can’t balance like that for very long. Don’t you know that by now?”

Clearly, no wings for her either.

Mom’s stories and poems do get wings when they fall. They suddenly get busted out of the computer and Mom reads them and changes them around and reads them and makes them shorter and reads them and makes them longer and reads them and makes them better. After a few days (or weeks) of that, those stories and poems go flying back to the mailbox to new publishers. Wings!

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (16)

  1. Ahhhh, Cupcake, I think your Mommy is so smart to not let those “rejections” get her down…and the fact that she keeps encouraging her stories to develop strong wings so that they may soar with confidence to their new homes!

    Lovely post!

    Donna L Martin
    http://www.donasdays.blogspot.com

  2. Falls and rejections. Mom thinks of them as wings and a nudge. You should think of falls as, “thank goodness I don’t have too far to go, being little and cute and all.” Write on, mom. Inspire and take wing, Cupcake.

  3. What a fabulous rejection!! I’ve never even gotten a stray pencil mark on any submission – way to go!!!

    • Thanks, Lori! That one is one of the better ones, but sadly, Mom has a whole collection of fabulous rejections. Can’t wait till she gets a few more fabulous acceptances!

      Love and licks!
      Cupcake

  4. At least your mama tries. Like I’ve heard it many times before, most overnight sensations were years in the making.

  5. idrawhorses said:

    Forget flying Cupcake. Something tells me you help your mommy stay grounded when those rejections make her feel like the floor has been ripped out from under her. Stay cute Cupcake. And Mom…you give wings by sharing this story and encouraging us all to KEEP TRYING!

    • Thanks, IDrawHorses! Mom and I both know that trying is important. I’m trying to learn fetching. I still accidentally grab the ball, jump on the couch, and sit there looking stupid, but Mom helps me keep trying.

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  6. Great post Cupcake. Your mom has the right attitude – no matter how many times you fall you never give up!

  7. We wish you the best with your stories. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve tried writing and have nothing but rejections… so I know how you feel. You write wonderfully so I know those stories will make it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Cupcake, we love your eyes… what a sweetie!

    God Bless You!
    the collies and chuck who are cheering you on and reaching up to help Cupcake when she falls.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. That cupcake is very wise. Keep those wings flapping!

  9. Cupcake, I think you’re both are real sticklers and that will give you wings already ๐Ÿ™‚ I love your envelope ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thanks, AngelsWhisper. Sticklers are delicious. Once I found one outside, and I chewed it till mom yanked it out of my mouth and said, “That’s wood, not food!” Sticklers…yum.

      Love and licks,
      C

Leave a Reply

