Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

“When you play, play hard; when you work, don’t play at all.”

Theodore Roosevelt

Theodore Roosevelt might have been ….Well, he might have been ….somebody, but I don’t like him!  I do not like people saying not to play.  Playing is the BEST dog-thing ever.

I’m not the only one who likes to play.  Mom plays with me a LOT.  We play bowling, shake the toy, hide and seek, get the Cheerios, IQ Puzzle, and fetch (well, SHE plays fetch, I play get the ball, bring it on the couch, and stare with a confused look on my face).  Playing is the BEST Mom-thing ever.

When Mom writes stories, she absolutely has to play when she works. She plays with characters to see how they like to act.  She plays with plot to see where things fit and what sounds best. She plays with conflict to set the stage, build a story arc, and bring resolution. And she plays with words to make everything sound smooth and rhythmic. I have a feeling she may be playing with some other stuff, too, because she’s always having fun when she works.

Mom says, “When writing stops being fun, I’ll stop writing.” and “Don’t forget playing with dialog, openings, closings, and humor.” and “Teddy bears were named after Theodore Roosevelt.”

Really? Maybe this guy isn’t so bad after all….

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (7)

  1. My 1 year old son enjoyed the “Eat the Cheerios” game. He would like to join in!

  2. Share shmare. You are adorable!

  3. I don’t particularly like teddy bears but, Cupcake, you almost make me want to go out and buy one for my cat. Too cute!

  4. Cupcake, what a lovely video. Your mom is right, you must have fun by what you’re doing, otherwise it’s not worth doing it:)

  5. I am inspired! Great quote! You are so clever Cupcake – I love the video 🙂

  6. Greate Quote and another great post Cupcake. You are so adorable! Love those cute pictures you have in each blog. 🙂 The video is fantastic.

    Your friends,
    the collies and chuck 🙂

Leave a Reply

