Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

“Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.”

—G. K. Chesterton 

Dragons are scary. I wish I had a stuffed dragon, so I could destroy him. That would teach scary things (like soccer players and  ladders) not to mess with me. 

Mom has never written a story about a dragon. She has written fairy tales and stories and poems with monsters, but no dragons.  Whew. 

In most of Mom’s stories, there’s a problem. Her characters try to solve the problem, and after trying a few times, they do! Mom says, “It’s good to solve problems.” and “Kids should know that problems have solutions.” and “Did you rip the tail off your stuffed bunny?” 

Mom’s characters always solve their own problems. That’s how it has to be. Parents and teachers are not allowed to help. I can NEVER solve my own problems. Once I got stuck behind the big chair, and I just stayed there till Mom noticed. She moved the chair and got me out.

Here I am being a problem solver, with a LITTLE help from Mom. Problem Solver Video 

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (20)

  1. You did it, Cupcake! I knew you could! (with a little help. Sometimes we all need a little help.)

  2. LOVED your video, Cupcake! You were made for the screen – so engaging! So glad you solved your problem 🙂

  3. YAY!!! Great post and video! You are the cutest!

    Your friends,
    the collies and chuck 🙂

  4. tinamcho said:

    Cute video and post. I, too, have to sit on the couch and think about how to solve my problems!!

  5. Sometimes solving a problem means knowing who to go for to get help. Good job getting that toy out Cupcake. But next time call me. I’m big enough to just step in that box.

  6. I began to feel a little sorry for you, Cupcake, but I could have known you finally would solve the problem. I loved to see you in action, and it doesn’t matter if you need a little help sometimes or always 🙂

    • Thanks AngelsWhisper. I was feeling a little sorry for myself at first, too. Mom likes helping me learn, so little by little, I get things done (unless I can get her to do them for me!).

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  7. Awww, Cupcake, you are so adorable! I think you should come visit and teach my cat, Tommy, a thing or two about solving problems…he just kinda lays around and waits for me to rescue him…;0)

  8. Never say never Cupcake. Very lovely picture!

  9. So glad Cupcake solved his(?) problem. He looked so worried for a while – as if he was never going to get that toy.

    • Thank you Sally. Problems can be a …problem for me. It’s because my brain is so tiny. Thank goodness Mom used to be a teacher. She shows me how to learn.

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  10. Loved the video Cupcake!
    Sorry I was late viewing your last few updates, but my two puppies got sick…Cinnamon, my little brown Doxie, died =[ I was sad and couldn’t bring myself to come visit you.
    Nutmeg Loves challenges, he loves his Kong wobbly treat dispenser so much that he rarely eats food out of his bowl anymore, he thinks it’s boring!

    • OMG, Amber! Mom and I are SO sad about Cinnamon. We were just getting to know her, thanks to your post. I hope Nutmeg is a comfort, and I hope he doesn’t miss his big sister too much. We will say prayers for your speedy recovery from this loss. Don’t be surprised if Nutmeg starts showing some Cinnamon behavior. That will be her way of staying with the 2 of you. Mom’s old dog, Smoki lives inside me, so sometimes, I act like her and make Mom laugh and shake her head.

      Love and lots of extra licks,
      Cupcake

Leave a Reply

