Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Finishing

I love my IQ Puzzle!

It has seven little doors that Mom fills with treats.  Then when I’m a good girl she puts it on the floor and I slide each door open and eat the treat inside. After I eat the seven treats, I check the doors again.  Then I triple-check, in case I missed any.  Then I sniff them and they smell like treats, so I check eight more times. 

It’s difficult to know when I am truly finished.  I really get the message when Mom picks up the puzzle and puts it in my toy box.  She says, “Good girl.” and “You are very smart.” and “That’s enough!”  Mom is good at knowing when I’m finished. 

She is finished with her 12×12 story for March.  She said, “It’s finished.” and “I THINK it’s finished.” and “It’s not finished, yet.”  Sometimes “finished” is not as easy as it sounds.  Trust me. I know!

Mom reads the story out loud to herself 50 times, and changes two words.  Then she reads it 50 more times, and cuts three entire paragraphs from the beginning.  Then she reads it again and puts the paragraphs back in.  Finally Mom says, “It’s finished.” and “I THINK it’s finished.” and “I’ll look at it again tomorrow.”

I wish I could put her computer in the toy box.  Then she’ll know that she’s really finished.

Comments on: "Finishing" (21)

  1. I wish Cupcake would come put my computer in the toy box 🙂

  2. You are a good girl Cupcake. I loved this post. Made me smile today. Thanks. Happy writing and hunting for treats over the weekend.

  3. Hi Cupcake! These are such lovely photos of you! That puzzle game sounds like a lot of fun! I think that’s a good idea to put her computer in the toy box. Sometimes humans need a little help with these things. 🙂

  4. Look at that face!!! So precious!!!
    I wish someone would put my refrigerator into your toy box!
    Revise and write on, mom.

    • Yay, Gemma! I would LOVE a refrigerator in my toybox. If I could figure out how to open it I would eat ham. I love that idea!

      Love and licks (and a little drool),
      C

  5. Cupcake, your mom is just like you – she checks and re-checks and then checks again, just in case she has missed something 🙂

    • That’s true, Bassa. We are a lot alike. But when Mom finds something she missed, she’s annoyed. When I find something I missed I EAT IT, and I’m happy!

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. Hehehe, cute post! The photos are great, especially the last one 🙂 Cupcake, you are one smart girl!!! I love how you and your mom are so alike. A perfect match!

  7. Hi Cupcake! What a lovely post! I’ve had a hard day so my “baby”, Tommy the cat is lying in my lap and purring to comfort me. I’m glad you take such good care of your “mom” as well!

    • Thanks, Donna! Even though I am afraid of c-c-c-cats, Tommy sounds like a good little guy. I take good care of Mom, now that I’ve learned not to zig-zag and trip her and not to pull her arm out of the socket when she holds my leash. I’m no Tommy, but I do OK….

      Love and licks to you and Tommy,
      Cupcake

  8. That puzzle looks more fun than your mom’s computer.

  9. Wow, Cupcake, that’s a nice puzzle, it keeps you busy (hoping). Looks like the checking thing is all in the family 🙂

  10. How smart you are!!!! What a great IQ game. We love your pictures for they are so cute and make us smile and laugh. The one at the end of the story is priceless! Great post!

    Your friends,
    The Collies and chuck 🙂

    • Thanks Chuck and the Collies! I love being cute. Mom said she almost needed a wide-angle lens to get me in the same picture as the dreaded water bottle. Scary!

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  11. […] an IQ toy that helps me be smart. I learned all my old IQ […]

Leave a Reply

