Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Take-My-Picture-Tuesday

I absolutely LOVE Tuesdays! It’s not Tuesday?? OK, the truth is, what I love is the Take-My-Picture part of Tuesday. Here I am trying to figure out how to work my bed. 

Mom’s bed, I understand. I also understand how to cuddle up on the couch, the chair, laps, blankets, and even inside the laundry basket.  This bed, though, has me stumped.

Mom is also stumped.  NOT by the bed. She said, “Just get in.” and “It’s a bed.” and “I don’t have time for this.  I have another revision.” I’m not sure what revision is, but it sounds like collision, and I definitely have some experience with that. Collisions give me a headache.

A magazine editor asked Mom to revise one of her stories. Simple right? So she did it and sent it back.  Now another editor looked at it and wants MORE revision. So Mom is happy, but also has a headache.  Each day, she stares at the story a lot and re-reads the story a lot and mumbles at the story a lot and revises the story a little, tiny bit. She says, “Revision is difficult.” and “I liked it the way it was.” and “Just get in. IT’S A BED!”

Mom is feeling that with each little change, the story is less and less her story. But since her story has a list of rejections a mile and a half long, maybe it NEEDS to be less and less her story.  Once my friend Lila played with my stuffed gorilla.  I thought that made it less mine, but after Lila was finished playing, the gorilla tasted better than ever and now it’s my favorite toy, and Lila is my favorite friend! 

Sometimes, changes, even difficult ones, are good.

Comments on: "Take-My-Picture-Tuesday" (25)

  1. Very wise. Sometimes we have to let go of those things we created or own so that they can get air under their wings and fly. The only one that likes change is a baby – they scream for it, – DogDaz

  2. They ( whoever that is) say change is good. It appears we all have to be flexible ( I struggle with that in all walks of my life), accept change ( hopefully for the better) and carry on. I suppose these know-it-all’s, know it mostly, so, as a teacher, mom, better than many, understands teaching moments. Mom should think of the revisions as teaching moments, and carry on. She’s good. ‘They’ are making her gooder. NOW GET IN THAT BED!

    • Thanks for the insight, Gemma. I have my good moments and my bad moments with the bed. Talk about changeable!… That thing is trickier than it looks!

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  3. Oh, Cupcake, what a wise doggie you are! Now if you could just teach my cat to get in his OWN bed instead of mine once in a while I would be forever grateful!

  4. Cupcake: You look too cute on your new bed…and it looks super-comfy too! Enjoy!

  5. Great post!
    You are so cute and we hope when you try your bed you will post a picture!

    Your friends,
    The Collies and CHuck 🙂

  6. Whhops, that should be when you try your bed again we hope for you will post a picture! LOL

    • Collies! You almost missed me in my bed! It’s a good thing you saw me there, because today I forgot how it works AGAIN! I need to keep working on it.

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  7. Lovely photos Cupcake. Please tell your mom that it is her story, not an editor’s. Stories can get lost in editing and I think your mom feels this.

  8. Cupcake is very wise indeed.

  9. Cupcake– we love the photos! You are too darn cute 🙂

    Good luck to your mom and all those revisions– they can be quite frustrating!! We’re thinking about you 🙂

    Have a wonderful week!

    Deanna and the Crew 🙂

  10. Cupcake, glad you finally figured out your bed. I hope your mom has finally done enough revisions and the editors are happy with the story.

  11. What a clear insight you have, Cupcake, accepting changes and put up with something:) Love your pictures, you’re so cute 🙂

  12. I like getting my picture taken because it always involves cookies!

  13. This is great. One of my cats loves her bed and the other cat never sleeps in his bed. They have both taken over the chair I bought last summer as my reading chair.

  14. […] even stared at a few stories on her computer, checked off her most recent rejections in her record notebook, and actually wrote a sentence or two in her latest story – which happens […]

Leave a Reply

