Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.

~Einstein~

Sometimes Mom calls me Einstein.  Once when my collar tag got stuck to the rug, I lay there with my head attached to the floor for a long time. Finally, Mom saw me.  She said, “Now what, Einstein?”  Then she helped me get loose. She must think I’m pretty smart, because that Einstein guy is a total brainiac.

He knows all about problems and all about how to fix them.  Personally, I have NO problems at all.  If something goes wrong in my day, I just wait on the couch till Mom fixes it.  Ball under the piano?  She’ll get the stick to push it out.  Ear stuck in my collar? She’ll unclip it and pull my ear loose. Nose prints blocking my view out the window? She’ll clean it with a paper towel till it’s clear and shiny. 

Einstein and Mom are great problem solvers. Mom said, “The problem with this story is we don’t know enough about the main character.” and “The problem with this poem is the rhythm.” and “How did your head get stuck in the printer wire?!”  Then she types, and reads out loud, and disconnects the printer to solve all the problems.  Sometimes she solves problems by reading stuff online, and sometimes she solves them in her writing group named David. 

OK – so she’s not working on the probabilistic interpretation of quantum theory or atomic transition and relativistic cosmology.  She’s more wondering what rhymes with slurp and how a little girl could keep six pet snakes hidden in her room.  But still, problems come and then problems go.  Good work, Mom.

Why do I know so much about Einstein?  Do you think you’re the only one who can use Wikipedia?

 

 

 

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (2)

  1. Yup, mom IS smart. I’ve borrowed her smartness more than once ( or twice or a hundred times). She tells me not to think about August in April. I think that was one of the smartest things she ever told me. I have to figure out how to act on her theories, which I think, for some of us common folk, are theories just as much of brainicical proportions as any of Einstein’s. ( I’m sure “brainiacical” is not a word but you get my point.) Stay away from wires and stairs – as Cloris Leachman said in Young Frankenstein, “they can be treacherous”. Mom, good luck with that ‘snake’ book. I remember that one. It was good!

    • Good advice, Gemma! Thanks!
      Mom surely THINKS she’s the smart one around here. Her license plate is proof positive of that! The thing is, we ALL have our own kinds of smartness and all of them are just as valuable.
      Love and licks and possible electrocution,
      Cupcake

Leave a Reply

