Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

I write as straight as I can, just as I walk as straight as I can, because that is the best way to get there.

~H.G. Wells~ 

When I was first adopted, I didn’t know ANYTHING about walking straight. Mom said, “Stop zigging and zagging.” and “Are you trying to kill me?” She even drew a picture of our feet walking in the snow.

I should’ve tried out for Dancing With the Stars! It looks like I’m doing the cha-cha-cha! 

After I studied at obedience school, I learned to walk as straight as an arrow. Mom said, “Good job.” and “Nice walking.” and “Did you just eat that goose poop?”

 Mom says writing straight is just as important as walking straight. Stories have to go from the beginning to the end and can’t wander off in a million directions. Sometimes, even when the first draft goes straight through to the end, it turns out too long. Mom says, “A thousand words!?” and “This has to be cut.”

That’s when I sneak away and disappear. I know about cutting! Every month, I get my nails cut. It is not fun. It’s all clip, clip, clip and ouch, ouch, ouch. NOT FUN. Then, whether I walk straight or zig and zag, instead of hearing my cute little feet go tick, tick, tick, it’s just silent, silent, silent. It sounds like I’m not even here! But I AM here, and my feet are ready for walking whenever Mom gets finished talking about cutting.

 

 

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (2)

  1. Christine said:

    Hi Cupcake, Your nails look ok, but if I were you, I would demand a COMPLETE manicure with whirlpool, massage & red nail polish. After all, you deserve it!

    • Thanks for the suggestion, Christine. The problem is – red nail polish would cover my beautiful nail color configuration. I enjoy the white, black, black, white, black, white, black, white, black, white look. No manicurist would understand! I barely understand myself, but I know it makes me an original! Here’s an idea – next time you get a manicure, try using more than one color. Then we’ll BOTH be an original!

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

Leave a Reply

