Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

However beautiful the strategy, you should occasionally look at the results.

~Winston Churchill~

I love results…..sometimes. 

If I walk nicely on my leash and stay quiet when the mailman comes, I get a delicious treat for my results.  Yum.  Those are good results.  If I chase a bird or leap into the air to try and catch an airplane, I get “correction” for my results.  Correction means my leash snaps me out of it and pulls me closer to Mom.  Bummer.  Those are bad results.

Mom also loves results…..sometimes. 

If a story isn’t good enough or isn’t in the right place at the right time, she gets rejection letters for her results.  HUGE bummer.  Mom says, “I hate rejection!” and “Where are you going with that banana peel?!” (Bad results for both of us.) 

But when mom talks to other bloggers, and they talk back to her, that is good results.  She says, “I love bloggers.” (That means me!)  When people read her book to some kids and then tell Mom the kids LOVED IT, that is also good results.  A blogger in Connecticut just did that, this week, and then blogged about it on her blog called Chicken Spaghetti.  Mom was SO happy.  She said, “Being an author is fun.” and “I’m putting this link on my Blogroll.” 

I heard the words: roll, chicken, and spaghetti, but no results came my way.  I guess I’ll keep being a good girl till Mom notices.  I want results — the good kind.

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (2)

  1. Christine said:

    Dear Cupcake, thank you for the sage advise. Mom has suggested in her sweet, gentle way that I stop talking about what ” I’m goimg to do” & take action & follow through. Then I will see results. She is a wise old crone – wouldn’t you agree? Kind of like Glenda, the good witch in The Wizard of Oz, except she’s not green. Oh, I forgot – dogs can’t see colors Your friend, Christine

    • Hi Christine,
      First of all Glinda isn’t green – that’s the Wicked Witch of the West. Glinda’s dress is pink, and her face is ….just like Mom’s…. *cough cough* When you do things, results always come. When you only talk about things, the result is – nothing, except more talking. Good luck in your doing. I think you’ll find that you like it more than you expected. Keep us posted on your results.
      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

Leave a Reply

