Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

“Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. 

The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time.”

–Thomas Edison–

Thomas Edison was smart.  He invented a thousand things.  One of them was light bulbs, which I LOVE.  When the lights are on, it means: playing with toys, eating treats, stealing gum from Mom’s pocketbook, and jumping on and off the couch a hundred times to check if my friend, Lila is walking by outside.   Sometimes Mom says, “The lights are on, but nobody’s home,” about me.  I don’t know why she says that. 

When the lights are off, it means: bedtime – no treats, no gum, and no Lila.  I am allowed to bring one toy to bed, but Mom won’t throw it, and she won’t let me shake it till I get dizzy.  Totally missing the point of the toy! When the lights are off, she says, “Go to sleep.  Tomorrow you can play again.”  I LOVE tomorrow!

Thomas Edison never gave up.  Mom says she is persistant like that, too.  She hasn’t invented a thousand things, but she says she might have received a thousand rejection letters.  She stopped counting after 200.  Despite that, she writes and writes and never stops.  She says, “I’ll never give up.”  I’m not sure I believe her.  About a thousand times a day, when I am not being a good girl, Mom says, “Ugh. I GIVE UP!” 

She’s no Thomas Edison!

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (2)

  1. There’s a time and a place for everything. ( Now who said that?) So even giving up has it’s place – but not for the important stuff like writing. Sometimes you have to throw up your hands, throw in the towel, give up the ghost. Just don’t make that the rule. P. S. Try Bubble gum It rocks!

    • Gemma, don’t say ghost to me!! I am afraid of the 2 white ghost dogs that live in the next building over from us. As far as throwing up hands and throwing in towels, I am 100% on board. Throwing is my favorite game. BubbleGum – yes. I’ll keep my eyes (nose) peeled next time the pocketbook is left unattended.

      Hang in there.
      Love & licks,
      Cupcake

Leave a Reply

