Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Visualize this thing you want. See it, feel it, believe in it. Make your mental blueprint and begin. Robert Collier

visualize Visualizing is an important part of a writer’s journey. Mom always visualized opening a letter of acceptance. She walked herself through every bit of how it would feel. The envelope – the weight of it, the uncertainty – that wiggly feeling in the tummy, the zipping it open – the rough edges, and the finally knowing – somebody said yes. Over and over for years and years, she saw it, felt it, and believed it. mailbox But guess what. When her first story was sold, no letter came. Her publisher called her on the phone and left a message! phone That being said, Mom still visualizes getting an acceptance letter. Over and over. Every detail. Every single day. She says, “This will happen.” and “It can’t hurt.” and “What is going on in that tiny brain of yours?”

thinking

What time is dinner?

I visualize, too, of course.

What time is dinner?

What time is dinner?

I see and feel and believe in tons of treats, piles of toys, toys long walks, and playtime that never ends. walking   My mental blueprint shows how I will get onto the table, into the garbage, out the window, and through the door. photo 3 My brain may be tiny, but it’s busy all the time. Visualizing…..

What time is dinner?

What time is dinner?

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (63)

  1. I’m going to try that – the visualising a job part, although since you mentioned dinner …

  2. Clearly GRRREAT minds think alike…’cos those are things we think and visualise about all the time too!
    Wally & Sammy

  3. She should have asked the publisher to send a letter as well. That was a nice message to have left on the phone though!
    I know exactly when it’s my dinner time! I give the bipeds five minutes (because I’m so patient) and then I start reminding them!

    • Mom did get an email after the phone call, so that was close enough. When she began visualizing, email wasn’t even invented! You are patient, C. Dinner should never be more than 5 minutes late!

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. My Mom says “believing is seeing” (a little different from the usual!)…..and visualizing is indeed part of what an artist and a writer must be able to do – your Mom does it very well and Cupcake, I think you are a “grandmaster” of visualizing (especially dinner!). :)

    Hugs, Sammy

  5. Oh indeed Cupcake…and putting the pictures on fridges and seeing them clearly…this is also part of the creative mind…seeing things that are not there and making them appear..the cakes the rugs the things we make all come from a visualisation…and get out of that bin young lady! hugs Fozziemum ;) xx

    • You are right, FM. Mom has a vision board hanging on her bulletin board. She looks at it a lot when she’s thinking. Don’t worry about the trash. I am too little to reach anything delicious…. :(

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Cupcake that’s the problem with being a petite pooch…you can never reach the goodstuffs..get yourself a vision board….;) hugs and loves Fozziemum xx

  6. I agree with your mom, it feels more “accepted” if you can hold the acceptance in your hand. But nothing is more important than the question: what time is dinner? (or the answer on the question of all questions)

  7. I think your mom deserves the paper as well as the call! You sure are good at visualization Cupcake! I visualize treats a lot! Whipped cream and salmon jerky today NOM!

  8. Oh Cupcake – I absolutely LOVE your visualization techniques. This is a most excellent tip – thank you my friend. XOXO – Bacon
    P.S. I’m off to visualize an entire box of Cheerios now… yummy!
    P.S.S. Conpigulations to your mom… I think she deserves a paper in hand as well :)

  9. I’m fully on board with this one. Maybe it’s just the placebo effect but I’m convinced it works.

  10. I can see you visualizing that dinner Cupcake. You are so cute and adorable. Tell mom to keep going. Thanks for sharing the beautiful photo’s. :D

  11. “If you can imagine it, you can achieve it; if you can dream it, you can become it.” ~William Arthur Ward Thanks for your inspirational words and visuals, Cupcake! You always make us smile with your cuteness!

  12. AND YAY for both of you!!!

    ¸.-♥´¨)Linda

    http://coloradofarmlife@wordpress.com

  13. I think about dinner alot too:-)

  14. My Mom CONSTANTLY visualizes winning mega millions and moving to Hawaii (I am NOT kidding), do you think THAT will come true?

    • Definitely, D., C., and C. You’d better start learning the hula. You’ll want to be able to fit in when you arrive. Send me a postcard… And some $$$$

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. And what, may I ask, would any human expect us cats and dogs to be visualizing??? Your visual is easy for me to see Cupcake and highly appropriate. Humans take themselves too seriously, na’mean???

  16. Good deal, this visualizing thing. I can see it up ahead. ❤️

  17. Aww Cupcake! You are always too cute!

  18. I can just imagine all the adventures you visualize, Cupcake. I do that too <3

  19. Maybe I should visualize getting my story finished. LOL Mom is right, the day will come and she will get the letter.

  20. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Hey Cupcake

    I think you’ve got that visualization thing all mastered buddy! I hope it all comes true for you and your Mom! :)

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy :)

  21. I love this visualization stuff, Cupcake. I visualize a big plate with lots of tuna and a mouse and I share it with you…right now :) Pawkisses for a Good Night :)

  22. Great points C! :D

  23. Your posts are always so positive! WOOF to Cupcake! 🐾🐾

  24. Cupcake, your brain isn’t tiny! Especially living with your mom, it can’t be tiny :-) Visualizing is so important…

  25. Visualizing a huge, beautiful, white bone by a doggy = visualizing a kind acceptance letter by a writer. Thus, since there is a deep analogy, the only thing your mom should do in order to receive an acceptance letter is giving you a huge, beautiful, white bone. This is simple logic. Elegant, convincing and inevitable.

  26. We are visualizing a wonderful dinner with you as our guest. ~Fenris & Family

  27. You are a master at visualization Cupcake! Everything you imagine comes right to you (well maybe not the shelf or garbage can, but I bet that could be right around the corner). I bet your Mom learns a lot from you about how visualizing and then letting go and knowing it will come in the perfect way can be effortless. You two are a great pair. Meghan

    • Thanks, M. I’m happy you know the secret of visualization. See it and then forget it and know it will come. It’s just like ordering a new toy online. Place the order, and know it will come….

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. Love the post… Lad has something to say…”Ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball,…..”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 441 other followers

