Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Author Visits

Mom has two author visits coming up. One this week and one next week. Both are call-backs, so she kind of knows what to expect. One thing she expects is fun! Rejection is the downside of writing. School visits are the upside AND her most favorite thing about being an author. Bar none.

school visit

Fifth graders and college students make for very different visits, which means Mom will pack up her school visit stuff  TWICE. I love when Mom packs up her bag.

bookbag2

Sometimes there are candies in there. Or gum. Or tissues.  And sometimes stuffed toys, depending on where she’s visiting. I ALWAYS check the bag out, just in case.

bookbag

Once I found (and ran with) a smaller bag from inside the bigger bag. It had a fork, a beanie baby, a paintbrush, and a baseball inside. Mom said, “I need them for a game.” and “You wouldn’t understand.” and “Eeeewww. They’re slimy with dog spit!”

gamebag2

Although I love the bag, I hate the leaving. Why does every upside need a downside? When Mom says, “I have to go,” I hear the word GO and head for the door.

Ready!

Ready!

She says, “Not this time.” and “I’ll be back in a little while.” and “Do you want a treat?” which is EXACTLY what I want. And that’s how the downside becomes the upside again.

milkbone toothbrush

 

Comments on: "Author Visits" (83)

  1. Wooohoowooooo fur your mom Cupcake!

  2. You are a real cutie, Cupcake!

    ✿♥ღLinda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  3. high paw friend..

  4. Enjoy the school visits, Genevieve! And Cupcake, you sure are a cutie pie! :)

  5. Yeah for your mom Cupcake! We agree, we hate when Mom leaves but we do love when we get treats!

  6. Love that last photo. Looks like you’re using ESP to command the treat to your mouth. A well earned prize for the watchpup who keeps the rascals out while mom is away.

  7. You are a master of manipulation, Cupcake :) I’m glad you’re so good at finding the upside!

  8. So proud of you! I wish I could meet you guys in person!

  9. Cupcake, you’re mom must be in demand to be called back. Hope you enjoyed your treat. :-)

  10. Yay for Mom and school visits. Boo for having to stay home and wait. If she ever gets that book about you written, you’ll be able to go on those visits!!

  11. Ah Cupcake, we love that you can see the upside to life…even when it comes with the help of a treat!! YUM!
    Wally & Sammy

  12. They must have enjoyed her visit to ask her to come again.
    Did she really manage to say that the things were covered in dog spit in a way that made that sound like a bad thing? Bipeds are strange!

  13. You certainly know how to work the best of the situation, Cupcake. A treat is an upside to anything!
    The Pigs xx

  14. Oh I’m so happy your Mom gets call-backs because that means they love her visits!! And while I know you’re disappointed when you don’t get to go along every time I bet getting those nice treats is ALMOST worth having to wait for her to come home! ALMOST!

    Hugs, Sammy

  15. Cupcake that’s such a wonderful thing for mum to get a call back :) I am glad you are on bag inspection duty as mum needs to make sure she ahs all the right stuff with her..except you…is that what you are looking for in mums bag??? yourself???? and the last pic…well I could smooch that face well and truly ;) hugs Fozziemum xx

    • Thanks, FM. I have tried to climb into the bag, but mostly for the gum. It’s not as easy as it sounds. And then Mom pretends my furs are in there with her stuff. She’s so dramatic!

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. Poor you. Do you ever go to book signings? :)

  17. You have the most amazing mum ever!! How exciting! Stay strong while she’s gone! <3

  18. Shame you can’t go on the visits too. But hope they go well

  19. That is wonderful news about the author visits! It is so grand when you love what you do! That is funny how Cupcake peeks into your bags, because Nikita and Bella do that too! Can’t get a bag past them without them doing their inspections first! Our Mommy gives us a treat too when she leaves. <3

  20. This is so exciting for your mom, even if you can’t go. We are very happy for her!

  21. maybe once she can play a game with you and the baseball and you can come with her? that would be great, but you should get a treat anayway :o)

  22. You’re soooo cute, Cupcake. I wonder if you fit in Mom’s bag… ;) Pawkiss :)

    • That’s when being a cat would come in handy, Little B. I can’t fit into the bag. I’m not flexible enough. Or maybe I ate too many cookies….

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. How fun! We had no idea mom was a writer- excellent! Did she do the illustrations too? We love the pictures of you being nosy! Too cute!

  24. Hope the visits go well and are alot of fun! Maybe you can go on a visit one of these days Cupcake??

  25. Cupcake, I think you would be a perfect addition to Mom’s visit bag. But a treat is good too. – Sofie Bear

  26. Make sure all the books your mom writes are about you. Then she’ll have to take you along. And give you treats for good behavior.

  27. mollieandalfie said:

    Happy Easter to you all, we hope you get’z lot’z of Berd or Thuna wez will see’z youz

    Tuezday xxxxoooxxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  28. I think it’s time that Cupcake gets a cat. You could call him/her Icing or Sprinkles. A cat would give Cupcake some company when mom leaves, plus they make super duper squeaky chew toys. ; )

  29. stanleyandkatrina said:

    Treats! We love them, too. You are so cute, Cupcake.

  30. How dares your mom go on author visits without her muse???? This is scandalous!

  31. Pawkisses for a Happy Easter, Cupcake and mom :)

  32. Aw cupcake, you are so sweet, and I’m sure your mom misses you just as much as you do her :)

  33. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Hey Cupcake

    We do the whole downside into upside when my Mum doesn’t take me too, I have to run to my bed and I get a sweet potato treat, which take a while to eat and by the time I’m finished mum has snook out!

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy :)

  34. Wow! I feel like I just got off a roller coaster! I like the upside of the roller coaster better than the downside. Kind of like life, if I may get a little philosophical. Treats are a fabulous upside! School visits, too. You guys are living la vita loca! Up Up and away!!! ;-)

  35. Great to have a positive outlook Cupcake! And I’m sure your mum doesn’t leave you for very long! :-)

  36. That is awesome Genevieve! People looking up to you for doing what you love! Is their anything better?! :)

  37. what a great post Thanks for sharing! And thanks so much for your recent visits to my blog!
    ღ husky hugz ღ frum our pack at Love is being owned by a husky!

  38. Congrats to Mom.. how cool to do what she does. :) As for you Cupcake… you are the cutest lil dog…. while I may be a collie fan I sure could make room for a Cupcake here at the Meadow. :)

  39. Cupcake, I’m almost certain that the book about you will be published soon and YOU can pack up your own bag to take on author visits. And you can put whatever you want in it… including lots of treats… you know, to give out to the kids.

    Meghan

  40. I certainly have missed these cheeky antics Cupcake!! :D xxx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 419 other followers

