Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Five Word Friday

5 cards

Today’s five words are about being happy.

1. King of the Hill – I am happy when I am King of the Hill. Even though the hill is sometimes made of black plow-snow mixed with ice. And stones. And dirt.

photo 2

2. Great Story Idea – Mom is happy when she gets a great story idea in her head. At first a new idea is all white and fluffy and has unlimited possibilities.

snow 63

3. Beehive – I was happy when enough snow melted so I could see the broken piece of beehive that fell out of the tree a few months ago.

hive

I TASTED it! Mom said the word, “Oh no you didn’t!” But oh yes, I did.

hive2

Is she watching me?

4. Brand New Story – Mom is happy when she sits down to start writing a brand new story about her brand new idea. Still white, still fluffy, and still filled with unlimited possibilities.

white

5. On top – I am happy walking on top of a foot of snow covered by a few inches of ice. As long as I stay on top, the snow can’t touch my belly. *shiver* But sometimes, I end up holding on for dear life  with my tiny chicken-feet so I don’t slide into the street.

photo 3

26. Holding On –  After Mom works on her story for a while, she feels like she’s holding on for dear life with chicken-feet trying to get to the end and making sure the story isn’t a computer full of nonsense. She is happy when she finishes, though, and sometimes it’s nonsense and sometimes it’s not. But either way, it’s finished.

end

71. Cutting out nonsense - After the end of the story, Mom has to revise. That does not make her happy, but it has to be done. It helps cut out some of the nonsense and makes the story better. Just do it, Mom. Don’t look back.

photo 1

I’m King of the …… *gulp*

 

Comments on: "Five Word Friday" (61)

  1. rnewman504 said:

    Great post, Cupcake! Enjoy the snow and best of luck to your mom with the rewrites. (Rewrites are the hard part for me too.)

  2. And more snow is coming, Cupcake! Stay safe & warm & hope Mom has lots of time & energy for rewrites (or some of that nice new fluffy stuff!).

  3. As always, Cupcake, your grasp of counting and the days of the week amazes me! How was the beehive?

  4. Did that beehive have some honey in it? Digging down to find that treasure is a real plus! That’s what your Mom needs to think about. Digging for the gold!

  5. Cupcake, you just keep encouraging your mom. Indy likes your chicken feet. :-)

  6. What cute little chicken feet you have Cupcake! Mom says you should paint your nails *BOL*
    Wally & Sammy

  7. That’s a mini-mountain of snow, Cupcake! When the fluffy snow is covered by a layer of ice, I bash my way through to the snow to play.

  8. This is Purrime Ministerettes. Snow is forbidded by PM law. You living on Pole up North? Then you better be aware of all snakies of Planet Purrth as them was all depurrted to there by us!

  9. Oh Cupcake your chicken feet are like Docs..and they are always gripping onto something..i am sure mums re-writes will only make her grip lessen..as she finds a stronger foothold…beehives are one thing…yellow snow another so bee-wary Cupcake :0 hugs Fozziemum xx

  10. Oh Cupcake be careful! It looks like that snow is ALMOST touching your tummy! EEEK! You’re brave to try and climb that mountain of icy, icky snow – I asked Mom if I could go outside this morning to inspect our overnight snow of about eight inches – I stepped out and went into the snow up to my shoulders! I just stood there waiting for her to rescue me. She did. That’s it for me and “out” today! We’re supposed to get at least ten more inches of this stuff…….Whaaaaaa…….I want SPRING!

    Hugs, sammy

  11. I don’t like that revisions stuff either. I’d rather climb that ice mountain too!

  12. I love being king of the hill. Ol Cissy gets frustrated because she no longer can climb but I whizz around her zoooommmm

  13. You really found a piee of a beehive? Wow, that’s a treeasure, Cupcake. Was there honey inside?

    • There was no honey, E (and no bees). The hive fell from the tree last summer, and then got covered with snow. I think it’s too old and raggedy to have honey, but when the latest foot of snow melts (eventually), I will double-check.

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. Hi Ya Cupcake, I think your Mommy should paint your toenails too for Valentine’s Day! I love your little coat too! You could climb some snow mounds with Nikita & Bella! Tell Mommy good luck with her rewrites! Hugs! Stay warm! :-)

  15. We have at least a foot of snow here. No school either. :)

  16. Cupcake, you seem to like the snow. Great photos — especially King for the Mountain. More snow headed our way tomorrow into the weekend.

    • Thanks, P. There’s almost another foot of snow outside right now and no end in sight. Soon, I will be King of the Hill again. ….unless I get scared and Mom has to carry me.

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. Rewrites are the worst. Sort of like all the snowplow hill stuff!

    Linda

    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    *♥´¨) ¸.-´¸.-♥´¨) Happy Valentine’s Day¸.-♥¨) (¸.-` ♥♥´¨

  18. You make me HAPPY when I read your posts, Cupcake! I hope you get a real treat for Valentine’s Day!

  19. Good luck to your mummy on her editing, and hope you manage to find that beehive again – yummy!

  20. If you ever need someone to bounce ideas off of, count me in. :) I love helping with stories!

  21. I envy the time your mom gets to spend with you, Cupcake, but I definitely don’t envy you for all that snow. Makes me shiver just to look at the pictures!

  22. Cupcake, you make me laugh. Thank you! Your om sure takes good pictures. I like you checking out the wasp nest (beehive or wasp nest?) but licking it, I must agree with your mom: ew! Why did the list skip a beat to #21 and te #76. What did I miss? Must be the story if we can’t see — yet. Thanks for making my night.

  23. Oooh Cupcake, a real beehive?! Yum! I hope you found some honey in there somewhere. You and your mom are such great writers, we love your posts.

    • Thanks, C and K. The hive was kind of dry since it’s been on the ground for months and months. That didn’t stop me from tasting it, because you never know….

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. Before the next Five Word Friday comes on Wednesday let me say that is some ugly snow! Just like ours. All the white and fluffy disappears under black and hard-as-a-rock! You are handling it quite well. If I were you, I’d sign on for the next Winter Olympics!

  25. I am soooooooo glad I am not dealing with that kind of snow! Cupcake you are braver than me! Your Pal, Linus!

  26. Wonderful 5 Word Friday Cupcake!!!! You’re so cute no matter what you do in the snow, glad the hive is gone!!!! Your mom sure is blessed to have you to encourage her every single day through every single word she writes!!!! Hugs

  27. thank Cod you Mum has you to help her with her writing Cupcake… I doubt she would get any stories completed without you and her constant muse…purrs, Savvy

  28. Being King is the best… don’t be afraid of the mountain, be afraid of those who try to knock you off it… but why worry I Ginger have many weapons to defend us with.. muwahahahahahah

  29. […] my beehive is back from under the […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 443 other followers

