Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Vision is not enough. It must be combined with venture. It is not enough to stare up the steps, we must step up the stairs.
Vaclav Havel

steps

Mom’s Highlights Contest story is finished resting, and thanks to her Contest Magic classmates giving her tons of help, she revised it –  AGAIN – cutting and adding and switching and tightening and tweaking (not twerking – trust me – nobody wants to see that).

 Yesterday, we went to the mailbox

mail

and Mom unceremoniously dropped it in. She said, “I could work on this thing for the rest of my life.” and “It’s time to stop staring up the steps and step up the stairs.” and “Where do you think you’re going?”

steps2

Mom is hoping to win big, but she is also hoping for her cyberclassmates to win big right along with her. She said, “Their stories are amazing.” and “Can I even compete with these people?” and “There’s nothing up there for you.”

Is she talking to me??

Is she talking to me??

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (45)

  1. We have been staring up the stairs for THREE YEARS now…butt we’re not allowed to go up them because that is where the sister cats live and the magical “big bed” is.

    We’ve got our paws crossed that you mom wins Cupcake!
    Wally & Sammy

  2. I’ll cross my paws for your mom, Cupcake, but she’s a winner in my eyes anyway :)
    That’s a great quote, I have to write it down for Granny…well, she does take the stairs, but when she’s halfway, she forgot why she took them….sigh… Pawkisses for a Happy Weekend :)

  3. Maybe it’s good I moved to a house with no stairs ;) xx

  4. Paws crossed for Mommy, Like Binky said, she’s a winner in our eye’s. Have a super weekend xxxoxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  5. Oh Cupcake I just love your jacket! You look ready to head out and have a nice bit of exercise in the cold (assuming nothing will touch your belly of course!!)……my Mom and I hope your Mom wins big – she works hard at her craft of writing – and deserves to win the Contest – with you as her “Head Cheerleader” I’m SURE she will!

    Hugs, Sammy

  6. I’m keeping my paws crossed for your mom!
    You do look sweet in your jacket, Cupcake.

  7. That is a rather profound quotation today. I hope your Mom reaches the top of the stairs with her story and finds a good reward.

  8. Purrime Ministerettes salute you!

  9. Cupcake, I hope your Mom wins the Highlight Contest. That would be quite a feather in her bonnett. My good vibes are being directed toward her entry. Goo9d luck to both of you.

  10. We will keep our paws crossed, too! Love Cupcake’s festive coat, just right for Valentine’s Day.

  11. I am so sure that mom’s just as good, if not better, than some of those others. But it would feel good all around if everyone could win!
    Tell her to hang in and you watch out for that first step. It’s a doozy!

  12. Trev and I wish your mom an awesome win with the contest!!!! Had to feel so wonderful dropping it in the mailbox , finishing a story is so exhilarating!!!! That jacket Cupcake is beyond adorable!!!! Hugs and happy weekend!!!!

    • Thanks W2W. Your good wishes might put the story mojo over the top. I’m happy you like my jacket. I feel very pretty in it, plus it keeps the snow from touching my belly. *shiver*

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. I’m glad you entered. I never looked into the contest, so I don’t know what they were looking for in the way of fiction. I wish you a lot of luck, because I know your talent as a writer!

  14. Good Luck, Genevieve! I hope you win the biggest prize!!!

    Linda

    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  15. Binky took the meows from us xx

  16. Great quote! Good luck to Ms. Petrillo! :D

  17. Cupcake, yes I believe your mom is talking to you. All the best on your submission! :-)

  18. I think you both are raising stars! Go and find the elevator, Cupcake!

  19. Keeping everything crossed for your mummy!!

  20. If only a stare could translate to a transfer! Good luck, we are rooting for your mom and know she can do it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers

