Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Finished

photo 1

Dinner is finished. I can tell by my empty dish.

photo 2

The Nutcracker Ballet is finished. I can tell by the SugarPlum Fairy dancing…

photo 3

…and Clara waking up.

photo 5

You mean we can’t play King of the Hill??

The snow is finished. I can tell by this little pile of black mush which is called Get-Away-From-It-It’s-Filthy.

bn

Mom is finished with her Goodreads Reading Challenge. She read 200 books this year, just like she planned.

piboidmo2013-winnerbadge-700x700

She is finished with PiBoIdMo, too. She made a list of 30+ ideas, just like she planned.

12-x-12-new-badge2

Now, 2013 is about finished, but Mom isn’t ready. She has one more thing to finish. It’s her second year of The12x12 Challenge. That means she planned to write 12 picture book manuscripts in 12 months. But she’s only got eleven-and-a-half stories finished. She needs to buckle down and get to the end of her 12th story before the end of the year.

Mom says, “It doesn’t count if it’s inside my head.” and “This is a tough time of year to catch up.” and “Dinner is finished. Get over it. You will eat again tomorrow.”

photo 6

Comments on: "Finished" (50)

  1. You crack me up Cupcake! Mom is wise to keep you away from that nasty snow. Eewww!

  2. wow..can’t believe the big goals you have set for yourself!!! Cupcake will cheer you on!

  3. Very wise my friend. My mom is running around like a mad human right now. She looked at her 2013 Resolutions list and saw that she only accomplished one thing this year – “Give Bacon a lot of loving”. So much for the other things on the list. XOXO – Bacon

  4. I haven’t got my December ms done either. Quick let’s brainstorm lol. Good luck. Cute post!

  5. Hi Cupcake……I just bet your Mom will finish that 12th story – just like you finished your dinner! As for the year 2013 leaving us – it’s time we had a “fresh” year to work on anyway don’t you think???

    Hugs, Sam

  6. stanleyandkatrina said:

    Cupcake, you always make me giggle. I may not comment regularly but I read all of your posts. Your mom completed so many goals this year. You should be proud of her. I have a feeling she will finish that last manuscript. :)
    ~CM

  7. Go mum go! see Cupcake mum will finish all she needs is a little help from you :) an encouraging word and some pep talks! hugs to you Fozziemum xx

    • Thanks, FM. I am helping Mom as much as I can. I stare at her really hard, but….nothing.

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Cupcake …I am sure your staring is very inspiring..i am pretty sure those eyes boring into the back of mums head as she feverishly tries to contemplate her work are doing the trick…subliminally anyway…perhaps you could try forcing her to take you out for a walk…and you could talk her down while ambling along….you can almost bet that the moment you are really getting into your stroll she will get light bulb moment and bang….there goes your walk….;) Hugs Fozziemum xx

      • You always have the BEST ideas!

      • I try and channel my inner canine Cupcake ;)

  8. Cute post, and, oh my, you’ve had a busy picture-book focused year!

    • Don’t let her fool you, L. Mom calls herself a full time writer, but she only writes for an hour a day. I spend more time than that squeaking my stuffed monkey.

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. The Two Orange Pups are sad when their dinner is finished, too, Cupcake. Why can Hobbits have second breakfasts & we only have one supper, they ask. They may have a good point…

  10. Good luck to your Mom Cupcake! My Mama says she needs to spend more time on her next books tooowooowoooooo!

  11. Cheers to great finishes, a Happy New Year and a bottomless food dish!

  12. Your mom is doing so well with her goals. She can get that other half book written. I know she can. I know she can.

  13. What an adorable post! I love the pictures! :)

    Feel free to visit my blog as well! You will find topics such as health, beauty, NYC fashion, personal growth and motivation between others! <3

    Diana
    http://www.ManhattanImageandStyle.com
    New Blog Post: How to Start 2014 With The Right Attitude

  14. An author’s work is never done – and dinner just turns into breakfast, then lunch then more dinner. NEVER finished. YAY!

  15. I don’t like to be finished. I always want there to be more.

  16. Sounds like your mummy only has a teeny tiny bit more to do before she’s done, and I have every faith she can do it :-)

  17. Your mom can do it, we just know it! Cupcake, you stand guard and block any distractions (kind of like this comment!). Happy New Year to you and your mom, we are very inspired by you both!

  18. An empty dish may mean that dinner should start immediately! A list of ideas means that writing should start immediately! Happy New Year, Cupcake and Mom!

  19. I’m so glad you found my blog!!!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com
    ¸.•*¨*•♪♫♫♪HAPPY NEW YEAR ♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸♥

  20. Wow!!!! 200 books, wonderful!!!! Congratulations on that and please send well wishes as your mom sets out for her 12X12 this year!!!! With you by her side, it will be a piece of cake…ummm..I mean Cupcake!!!! Wink…Have a great one!!!! Hugs

  21. You both are so busy! That snow pile is dirty, your mom is right. :) 200 books! WAY TO GO! I tried but didnt make that much this year. But, Kindle sure made it close! :) Great job on writing all those stories and books. We are cheering you on! :)

  22. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Wow Cupcake, your Mom really read 200 books in 1 year, that’s colossal! :)

    I hope she finished her final challenge and you got fed,

    Happy New Year

    Your pal Snoopy :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 372 other followers

