Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Combinations

There are lots and lots of breeds of dogs.

tv

Nobody is really sure what combination I am. Part Jack Russell for sure, and maybe some Beagle or Dachshund or Dalmation or ….Monkey or Bobcat.

tv2

Whatever the mix, I’ve turned out to be perfectly me. Not perfectly perfect, but with a bunch of good parts put together (and a little naughty streak for good luck).

tv4

Is that…? Is he…? Am I…?

I’m an original.

tv huh

Wait. What?

Mom keeps idea lists in her phone. One of the lists is called PiBoIdMo2012. It has 32 ideas.

piboidmo12winnerlarge

One is called PiBoIdMo2013. It has 35 ideas.

piboidmo2013-winnerbadge-700x700

And one is called Story Ideas. It has 42 ideas. Some of the ideas are already used up, so Mom marked them with a star. She says, “An author needs lots of ideas.” and “My phone is always nearby, in case I think of anything.” and “Do you have the hiccups?”

what

Hic….

When Mom starts a new story, she doesn’t always pick one of the ideas from her phone. Sometimes, she picks two ideas or even three and puts them together to make a combination. It’s not perfectly perfect, but it’s perfectly her. Idea mixing makes stories have some surprises and some unexpected events and unique characters in odd places doing unusual things.

And yes, sometimes I have the hiccups.

Comments on: "Combinations" (59)

  1. Nasty old hiccups!

  2. Oh Cupcake we hate the hicc-a-ma-jups as I call them…hope they went away looked like you were heavily invested in a snooze at the time…how annoying :) hugs Fozziemum xx

  3. I wonder if the Advil will relieve the hiccups?

  4. Cupcake you are a cutie Cupcake. And a little naughty is good.. :D

  5. Cupcake, you are a perfect combination, hiccups & all!

  6. That hiccup video is too funny. It always cracks me up when Eko gets them.

  7. It’s a super idea to keep ideas in the phone. Ideas are very shy. Sometimes they come and one minute later they run away. Think my mom should do the same, even me has a bad idea catalog where I collect my ideas till I need them. I sometimes have the hiccups too, then I need a drink or a treat :o)

  8. Oh Cupcake, those naughty hiccups!

  9. Cupcake, those pics are wonderful, especially the one with you looking back at the camera!!!! The hiccups…Boo…Hope they were over in a flash!!!! Happy day dear one!!!!

  10. rnewman504 said:

    Madeleine, my faithful, ever-hungry Cocker Spaniel companion, thought perhaps some filet mignon might take care of those darn hiccups! If that doesn’t work, Madeleine also heard chicken soup with rice might do the trick. And maybe some cheese too! Fun post!

  11. You’re too cute C. ;) Hope Mom has a best-selling idea. :)

  12. Such wonderful photos. Love the Blue hue !!

  13. Mom has a whole lotta ideas, dogfriend. She tells me them all the time. I LOVE her ideas. And as for you, I have a cure for the hiccups, just give me a shout. But you’ll need to be able to drink through a straw. Hmmmm…
    Tell mom I have an idea myself. It’s called Kitten in the Cold. She’ll know what I’m talking about. And remind her, lunch Friday. YAY!

  14. You are certainly one of a kind Cupcake :)

  15. Good idea to make combinations with my PiboIdMo ideas! Thanks!

  16. Cupcake, you write the best posts. :-)
    Have a Merry Christmas. :-)

  17. We just nominated you for the 2013 BLOG OF THE YEAR AWARD! Check out our post here: http://nikitaland.wordpress.com/2013/12/21/blog-of-the-year-award/

  18. Of course you’re an original, Cupcake. That dog is looking the same, but he can never be you or vice versa ;) Very cute done btw… *whispers* I hardly recognized you without clothes. Extra Pawkisses for the delay :)

  19. Too cute. Happy holidays.

  20. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Hey Cupcake

    I think you’re from the perfectly cute breed! :)

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy :)

  21. Oooh, I’m going with part Bobcat, that’d be cool!!

  22. I think you have a little Pointer in your mix. At least, you have perfect dots on your back and ears! And the thing your mom thinks to be hiccups, results rather from the fine tuning of your particles in order to be always a top perfect combination!

  23. You are perfectly you, Cupcake, and we love you for that! Just stopping by to say have a happy holiday! Your mom is an inspiration!

  24. I love Cupcake looking at a dog show, maybe for his heritage. With those spots, I would say you are part dalmatian. And you are perfectly perfect for you! Sorry about the hic-cups. I am late commenting. Came over to say Merry Christmas. By now your hiccups are gone, may they never return.

  25. Being a mixed up dog is the best. That’s what I am.

  26. You are so cute Cupcake :)

  27. Hiccups are the worst!!!! Wonder how many of those dogs you are related too?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 418 other followers

